AceGamer D4 vs GuliKit KingKong 3 Max: Which Controller?

Updated: September 8, 2026 · AceGamer Editorial

Quick answer — The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 and the GuliKit KingKong 3 Max are both feature-dense pro controllers configured on the pad itself, and they differ by $30, by stick technology and by platform. The D4 ($49.99) has the newer sensor — TMR sticks against the KK3 Max's Hall Effect — four rear buttons with on-controller macros, trigger haptic motors, and the PS4 support the GuliKit lacks. The KK3 Max ($79.99) has documented Hall Effect triggers, four detachable magnetic paddles, a documented 1000 Hz rate, GuliKit's Maglev vibration, a replaceable battery rated 28 hours with lights off, swappable face buttons and gyro aim assist, on PC, Switch, Switch 2, Android and iOS — with reviewers noting weak Bluetooth on PC and early quality-control complaints. For PS4 owners and value buyers, the D4; for PC and Switch players who want paddles, published figures and a replaceable battery and can spend $30 more, the KK3 Max.

AceGamer HyperShadow D4 beside the GuliKit KingKong 3 Max with its magnetic back paddles
Two pads that need no app: TMR and PS4 for $50, Hall paddles and a replaceable battery for $80.

What are the D4 and the KK3 Max?

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is a $49.99 pro controller in the PlayStation layout with JS13Pro TMR joysticks, four back buttons (M1–M4) holding on-controller remaps or macros of up to 24 inputs, two-stage triggers switchable per side between micro-switch and linear, dual grip and dual trigger haptic motors, a 6-axis sensor, Turbo and an FPS zero-dead-zone mode. It connects over Bluetooth, an included 2.4G receiver or USB-C via a rear switch, supports PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android, and in PS4 mode adds a touchpad, speaker, headset jack and console wake. Battery life is rated 7–20 hours. The full sheet is in D4 specs and price and the assessment in the D4 review.

The GuliKit KingKong 3 Max, usually shortened to KK3 Max, is an $79.99 Xbox-layout pro controller that reviewers place against the Xbox Elite Series 2 on features. PC Gamer's review lists Hall Effect sticks and triggers, six rear paddle positions, 247 grams, 2.4 GHz, Bluetooth and wired connections, and Windows, Switch, Android and iOS support, and notes it is not compatible with Xbox or PlayStation consoles. GamesRadar's 4.5-star review praises four magnetic back paddles, a premium feel and comfort, lists a 1000 Hz polling rate and Switch 2 compatibility, and notes no swappable thumbsticks are included. Reviewed lists trigger stops, a Turbo button, four detachable paddles, removable face buttons, macro support, an adjustable four- or eight-way D-pad, a six-axis gyro, six haptic modes, and battery life of 28 hours with the LEDs off or 15 with them on, and names limited device compatibility and moderate battery as its cons. Neowin credits it with all tweaks done on-board and refined 2.4G performance, and lists weak Bluetooth on PC, occasional connection delay after power-on, creaking shoulder buttons and triggers, and widely reported quality-control issues among its cons. Tech4Gamers lists GuliKit's patented Maglev vibration motor and a 950 mAh battery, and finds the rear paddles hard to use and the D-pad a weakness.

The one-line summary: the D4 is the cheaper, newer-sensor pad with PS4 support; the KK3 Max is the more accessorised, better-documented pad with a replaceable battery and no PlayStation. Neither supports PS5 or Xbox.

D4 vs KK3 Max: specs side by side

D4 figures are from AceGamer's listing and user manual. KK3 Max figures are from the reviews cited above. Where a figure is unpublished, the table says so.

Specification AceGamer HyperShadow D4 GuliKit KingKong 3 Max
Price $49.99 $79.99
Layout PlayStation (symmetrical, touchpad) Xbox (offset sticks)
Platforms PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS, Android PC, Switch, Switch 2, Android, iOS
PS4 support Yes - touchpad, speaker, jack, console wake No
Joysticks JS13Pro TMR; RGB none Hall Effect, RGB rings, not swappable
Triggers Two-stage: micro-switch or linear; sensor not stated Hall Effect with trigger stops
Rear inputs 4 rear buttons, on-controller macros up to 24 inputs 4 detachable magnetic paddles; 2 back buttons in the box
Face buttons Standard; switch type not specified Tactile, swappable with included puller
Vibration Dual grip + dual trigger motors; 4 levels; 3 trigger modes Maglev motors; six haptic modes
Motion 6-axis 6-axis with motion aim assist
Connectivity Bluetooth · 2.4G receiver · USB-C Bluetooth 5.3 · 2.4G dongle · USB-C
Polling rate Not published 1000 Hz
Configuration On the controller; no app On the controller; no app required
Battery Rated 7–20 h; internal 950 mAh, replaceable; 28 h lights off, 15 h lights on
Weight Not published 247 g
In the box Receiver (full contents not published) Dongle, paddles, spare face buttons, case, tool

Which platforms does each support?

Both cover PC, the Switch family, iOS and Android. The D4 adds the PS4; the KK3 Max adds nothing the D4 lacks and, per PC Gamer, works on neither Xbox nor PlayStation. For a PS4 owner the comparison ends here.

GuliKit built the KK3 Max as a PC-and-Switch controller, and reviewers judge it in those terms — Reviewed lists limited device compatibility as a con, and PC Gamer calls its absence from both console ecosystems curious. It does the Switch well, and GamesRadar lists Switch 2 compatibility. The D4 covers the same devices and adds a native PS4 mode with a working touchpad, speaker and headset jack and console wake, as covered in how to connect the D4 to a PS4; its manual also confirms a one-key Switch 2 wake-up after a one-time setup. The KK3 Max coverage consulted does not state its Switch wake behaviour, so none is claimed.

One PC-specific note from Neowin: the KK3 Max's Bluetooth on PC is poor, and its 2.4G dongle is the mode to use. The D4 likewise favours its receiver on PC, though its Bluetooth is documented as a standard Xbox Wireless Controller profile. Both keep separate pairings for dongle and Bluetooth, so either can serve a PC by dongle and a phone by Bluetooth.

TMR vs Hall Effect: who has the better sticks?

Both are contactless and drift-resistant. The D4's TMR sensor reads a finer signal with lower power draw than the KK3 Max's Hall Effect sensor, which is the technical edge; the KK3 Max's sticks have RGB rings and adjustable sensitivity, and reviewers note they are not swappable. Treat the D4 as ahead on sensor generation and the two as close in play.

GuliKit is a Hall Effect pioneer — its stick modules were among the first to bring contactless sensing to third-party pads — and the KK3 Max's sticks are well regarded. TMR is the next generation: a magnetic tunnel junction produces a much larger signal from the same magnet than a Hall plate, which lets the controller resolve smaller movements with less noise, run a smaller dead zone and draw a fraction of the power. The D4's FPS zero-dead-zone mode depends on that clean centre. The gain over a good Hall stick is real but subtle in casual play and clearest in fine aiming, as set out in TMR vs Hall Effect: which is better?

Around the sensors the KK3 Max offers more knobs: three joystick sensitivity modes and a dead-zone toggle set on the pad, RGB rings around the sticks that reviewers advise switching off to save battery, and a motion aim-assist feature. The D4 offers its per-stick zero-dead-zone toggle and no lighting on the sticks. Neither publishes stick tension or resolution figures.

Four rear buttons or four detachable paddles?

Both give you four rear inputs. The D4's are fixed rear buttons in the grips with on-controller remaps and 24-step macros; the KK3 Max's are four magnetic paddles that detach, with two smaller back buttons also in the box. Paddles are easier to find by feel and easier to press by accident; rear buttons are slimmer. Reviewers split on the KK3 Max's paddles.

GamesRadar counts the four magnetic back paddles as the KK3 Max's headline strength and its review title makes the point that paddles and buttons feel different. Tech4Gamers finds the paddles hard to use, and Neowin notes the hard-shell case cannot be used with them installed. Because they detach, a player who dislikes them can remove them or fit the two back buttons instead — flexibility the D4 does not offer, since its M1 to M4 are fixed.

What the D4 offers is macro recording on the controller: each rear button holds a remap or a sequence of up to 24 inputs, programmed with a three-second M-plus-button hold, with defaults of B, A, L3 and R3. The KK3 Max's rear inputs are mapped on the pad as well, and Reviewed lists macro support under GuliKit's Auto-pilot feature; the coverage consulted does not state a sequence length. On count the two are equal; on form the KK3 Max is more adjustable and the D4 more compact. The general case is in controller back buttons explained and the D4's procedure in setting up M1–M4 macros.

Triggers and vibration: two-stage haptics vs Maglev

Both switch their triggers between analogue travel and a short click, and the KK3 Max documents Hall Effect sensing for its analogue mode where the D4 does not state its sensor. On vibration the two take different routes: the D4 has four motors including trigger haptics with three modes; the KK3 Max has GuliKit's Maglev motors with six haptic modes.

The KK3 Max's trigger stops convert its Hall analogue triggers to a short digital pull, and Reviewed lists them among its features; on the pad you can switch between Hall analogue and micro-switch modes. The D4's rear switches do the same per side. The trade-offs are in micro-switch vs linear triggers. The documented Hall trigger sensor is a point for the KK3 Max, as it is for other pads that state one.

On vibration, GuliKit's Maglev motor is a distinctive design — Tech4Gamers lists it as a patented feature and Reviewed counts six haptic modes — and reviewers describe it as refined. The D4's answer is dual grip motors plus dual trigger haptic motors, four intensity levels set on the controller, and a resonance mode that puts grip rumble under the triggers. Which is better is a matter of taste that this guide will not decide from reviews; what can be said is that the D4 puts motors in the triggers and the KK3 Max does not document trigger motors. The D4's settings are in the D4 Turbo and trigger settings guide.

Both configure on the controller — how do they compare?

This is the pairing's most interesting shared trait. Neither controller needs an app: the KK3 Max adjusts paddle mapping, trigger mode, aim assist, dead zone, sensitivity, lighting, rapid fire and vibration on the pad, and the D4 adjusts macros, trigger modes, vibration, Turbo, FPS mode, sleep, brightness and calibration on the pad. The KK3 Max exposes more settings; the D4 exposes fewer and simpler ones.

Neowin's review lists all tweaks done on-board among the KK3 Max's strengths, and Reviewed's feature list — trigger stops, Turbo, macro support, a four- or eight-way D-pad switch, six haptic modes — is a long one, all reachable without software. That depth is a real advantage for a tinkerer: joystick sensitivity at three levels, a motion aim-assist with four settings, RGB brightness, and an A-B/X-Y swap are things the D4 does not offer. The D4's set is narrower and, arguably, easier to hold in your head: one macro procedure, one trigger switch per side, one vibration combination, one FPS toggle. Both approaches carry their settings to every platform without an app, which is the point. A player who wants the most on-pad control will prefer the KK3 Max; a player who wants the least to remember will prefer the D4.

Polling rate and connectivity

Both offer a 2.4G dongle, Bluetooth and USB-C. The KK3 Max publishes a 1000 Hz polling rate; the D4 publishes none, so on the numbers the KK3 Max leads. Reviewers rate the KK3 Max's 2.4G performance highly and its PC Bluetooth poorly.

GamesRadar and Tech4Gamers both list 1000 Hz for the KK3 Max, and Neowin singles out its 2.4G performance as refined — with the qualifier that Bluetooth on PC is poor and there is an occasional delay connecting after power-on. The D4 publishes no rate for any mode; its 2.4G receiver and wired modes are the right kinds of connection for consistent timing, but this guide does not infer a figure. A buyer who wants the number should note the KK3 Max prints it. The D4's modes are in 2.4G vs Bluetooth on the D4.

Battery: rated range vs replaceable 28 hours

The KK3 Max wins this round on paper and in design: a 950 mAh battery that Reviewed rates at 28 hours with the LEDs off and 15 with them on, and — unusually — a user-replaceable cell. The D4 is rated 7–20 hours depending on features in use, with an internal cell and USB-C charging in about three hours.

The replaceable battery is the KK3 Max's most distinctive practical feature, and one review calls it a big plus: when the cell ages, it can be swapped rather than the controller retired. Its runtime spread — 28 hours dark, 15 lit — shows how much the RGB rings cost, and reviewers still call the battery moderate, which says something about the feature load. The D4's range is wide for the same reason: vibration, trigger haptics and, on PS4, the speaker and a headset pull toward seven hours, while lean use reaches toward twenty. With lights off on the KK3 Max and vibration down on the D4, the GuliKit's headline is higher; the D4's answer is charging from a console or PC port while playing. The details are in D4 battery life explained.

Build, extras and quality-control notes

The KK3 Max ships with more in the box — dongle, four paddles, two back buttons, spare face buttons, a case and a tool — and reviewers praise its feel while flagging creaks and early quality-control complaints. The D4 ships with its receiver, publishes no full box contents, and has no equivalent body of long-term reviews to cite.

GamesRadar calls the KK3 Max a thing of beauty with a premium feel; PC Gamer calls its build solid; Neowin, testing a later unit, reports creaking shoulder buttons and triggers and notes widely reported QC issues on earlier batches that it did not experience itself. Tech4Gamers calls the D-pad a limitation, and Reviewed lists an adjustable four- or eight-way D-pad among the features. Swappable face buttons with an included puller are a nice touch; the sticks, by contrast, are not swappable, which GamesRadar lists as a negative.

The D4's listing and manual document its features thoroughly but publish no weight, dimensions or full box contents beyond the included receiver, and as a newer product it lacks the review record the KK3 Max has accumulated. Both carry a one-year replacement policy in the AceGamer store's case and a manufacturer warranty in GuliKit's, with unauthorised disassembly excluded — which, for the KK3 Max, sits oddly beside a replaceable battery and is worth checking in GuliKit's own terms.

Price and value

The D4 lists at $49.99 and the KK3 Max at $79.99. The $30 buys documented Hall triggers, a published 1000 Hz rate, a replaceable 28-hour battery, detachable paddles, swappable face buttons, Maglev vibration, aim assist and a fuller box. It does not buy TMR sticks, trigger haptics or PS4 support, which the D4 has and the KK3 Max does not.

Reviewers are consistent that the KK3 Max is strong value against $130-plus premium pads, and on PC and Switch that is fair. The D4's value case is different: it is $30 cheaper, carries the newer stick sensor, and is the only one of the two that works on a PS4. A PC or Switch player choosing between them weighs the KK3 Max's documentation, battery and accessories against the D4's price and TMR; a PS4 owner has no choice to make. The wider TMR field is in the best affordable TMR controllers, and the D4 against other Hall-equipped rivals in D4 vs Flydigi Vader 4 Pro.

Which should you buy?

Your situation Buy Why
You play on a PS4 D4 The KK3 Max supports no PlayStation console
You want TMR sticks and trigger haptics D4 Newer sensor; motors in the triggers
You want to spend under $50 D4 $49.99 against $79.99
You prefer the PlayStation layout D4 Symmetrical sticks; the KK3 Max is Xbox-style
You want detachable paddles and swappable face buttons KK3 Max Four magnetic paddles, spare buttons and puller in the box
You need a documented 1000 Hz rate and documented Hall triggers KK3 Max Both published; the D4 publishes neither
You want a replaceable battery and the longest headline runtime KK3 Max 950 mAh swappable; 28 h lights off
You want the most on-pad settings to tune KK3 Max Sensitivity, aim assist, D-pad mode, six haptic modes
You rely on Bluetooth on PC D4 Reviewers rate the KK3 Max's PC Bluetooth poorly; use its dongle
You play on PS5 or Xbox Neither Neither lists those platforms

The honest verdict: the D4 for PS4 owners, TMR, trigger haptics and price; the KK3 Max for PC and Switch players who want paddles, published figures, a replaceable battery and the deepest on-pad tuning, and can spend $30 more. Both are configured without an app; the platform and the budget decide it. Browse the D4 in AceGamer's TMR controllers and pro controllers.

View the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 →

Frequently asked questions

Does the GuliKit KK3 Max work on PS4?
No. The KK3 Max supports PC, Switch, Switch 2, Android and iOS, and PC Gamer notes it is compatible with neither Xbox nor PlayStation consoles. The AceGamer D4 supports PS4 natively with a touchpad, speaker, headset jack and console wake. For a PS4 owner the D4 is the only choice of the two.

Is the D4 better than the GuliKit KK3 Max?
It depends on platform and budget. The D4 leads on price, TMR sticks, trigger haptics and PS4 support. The KK3 Max leads on documented Hall triggers, a published 1000 Hz rate, four detachable paddles, a replaceable 28-hour battery, swappable face buttons, Maglev vibration and the depth of its on-pad settings. Both are configured without an app.

Does the KK3 Max use TMR or Hall Effect sticks?
Hall Effect, on both sticks and triggers. The D4 uses TMR sticks, the newer generation, which read a finer signal with lower power draw. Both are contactless and drift-resistant; the D4 is ahead on sensor generation, and the two are close in casual play.

How many back buttons does each have?
Four each. The D4 has four fixed rear buttons with on-controller remaps and macros of up to 24 inputs. The KK3 Max has four detachable magnetic paddles, with two smaller back buttons also included, mapped on the pad. Paddles are easier to find and easier to press by accident; reviewers split on the KK3 Max's.

Do either of them need an app?
No. Both are configured on the controller. The KK3 Max exposes more settings - paddle mapping, trigger mode, aim assist, dead zone, sensitivity, lighting, rapid fire, vibration and a D-pad mode - while the D4 exposes a narrower, simpler set. Both carry their settings to every platform with nothing installed.

Which has a published polling rate?
The KK3 Max, at 1000 Hz, and reviewers rate its 2.4G performance highly. The D4 does not publish a polling rate, so none is claimed; its 2.4G receiver and wired modes are the right connection types for low latency, but the figure is unverified.

Which has the better battery?
The KK3 Max on paper: a replaceable 950 mAh cell rated by Reviewed at 28 hours with the LEDs off and 15 with them on. The D4 is rated 7 to 20 hours depending on features in use, with an internal cell that charges over USB-C in about three hours, including from a console or PC port while playing.

Is the KK3 Max's Bluetooth good on PC?
Neowin rates it poorly and recommends the 2.4G dongle, which it praises, and notes an occasional connection delay after power-on. The D4's Bluetooth presents as a standard Xbox Wireless Controller profile; it too favours its receiver on PC for consistency.

Which has trigger vibration?
The D4, with dual trigger haptic motors alongside its grip motors and three trigger-motor modes. The KK3 Max uses GuliKit's Maglev motors with six haptic modes, which reviewers describe as refined, but the coverage consulted does not document motors in its triggers.

Which is cheaper?
The D4, at 49.99 dollars against the KK3 Max's 79.99 dollars. The 30 dollar difference buys documented Hall triggers, a published rate, a replaceable battery, paddles, spare face buttons and a fuller box; it does not buy TMR sticks, trigger haptics or PS4 support, which the D4 has.

Sources & methodology

AceGamer D4 specifications are from AceGamer's official listing and its V2.1 user manual as of September 2026, with battery life stated as the rated runtime range. GuliKit KingKong 3 Max specifications, prices, battery figures, weight, box contents and reviewer observations are paraphrased from the PC Gamer, GamesRadar, Reviewed, Neowin and Tech4Gamers reviews linked below; where reviews differ on paddle count or battery, this guide reports the range and the maker's own description. Prices are US list at the time of writing and move with sales. Where a figure is unpublished for either controller, this guide says so rather than inferring it. No test measurements were taken.

Forrige Næste