AceGamer HyperShadow D4 Controller: Specs & Price

Updated: September 2, 2026 · AceGamer Editorial

Quick answer — The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is a full-size wireless pro controller priced at $49.99. It uses JS13Pro TMR magnetic joysticks, works with PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android, and connects over Bluetooth, an included 2.4G wireless receiver, or USB-C. It carries four programmable back buttons (M1–M4) with 24-step macros, two-stage switchable triggers, dual grip and dual trigger vibration motors, a clickable touchpad, a 3.5 mm headset jack with a built-in speaker in PS4 mode, a 6-axis motion sensor, and a 1000 mAh battery rated for 7–20 hours. This page is the complete, verified specification sheet, with honest notes on what the D4 does not do.

AceGamer HyperShadow D4 wireless pro controller with TMR joysticks and back buttons
The AceGamer HyperShadow D4: a $49.99 full-size pro controller with TMR joysticks and PS4 support.

What is the AceGamer HyperShadow D4?

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is a full-size, multi-platform wireless gaming controller positioned as an affordable "pro" pad. In controller terms, a pro controller is a full-size gamepad that adds features beyond a standard pad — most commonly programmable back buttons, adjustable triggers, premium joystick sensors and multiple connection modes — and the D4 includes all four.

What sets the D4 apart in the current market is the combination of three things that rarely appear together at its price. First, it uses TMR (tunneling magnetoresistance) joysticks, the newest generation of drift-resistant stick technology, which in 2026 mostly appears on controllers costing $60 to $90. Second, it supports PlayStation 4, complete with the touchpad and built-in speaker that PS4 games use — something most TMR-equipped controllers from GameSir, 8BitDo and Flydigi skip entirely. Third, it costs $49.99, which places it below almost every TMR controller and below a new first-party DualShock 4.

The D4 sits alongside two other AceGamer lines. The AceGamer T50 is a $29.99 foldable pocket controller with standard sticks, built for portability and multi-device use. The Aurora line uses Hall Effect sticks. The D4 is the full-size, feature-complete option for players who want precision, back buttons and PS4 compatibility rather than something that folds into a pocket. If you are choosing between the two, the D4 vs T50 comparison walks through who each one suits. For the wider field of pro pads, browse AceGamer's pro controllers.

How much does the D4 cost, and what's included?

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is priced at $49.99 USD on the official AceGamer store, with free shipping storewide. The listed SKU is D4-BLK, the black finish.

On the question of what comes in the box, this page states only what AceGamer's product listing confirms: the 2.4G wireless receiver is included with the controller. The listing does not itemise other box contents, so this guide does not guess at cables, manuals or extras — the product page and any unboxing coverage are the accurate sources for that detail.

To put the price in context against the controllers the D4 most directly competes with: TMR-equipped pro controllers from established brands generally sit between about $60 and $90 in 2026, and a first-party DualShock 4 typically costs around $60 to $65 while using older potentiometer sticks. The D4's $49.99 undercuts both while carrying the newer stick technology. That value gap is the D4's central selling point, and it is worth being clear that the D4 competes on price-to-feature ratio rather than on being the most expensive or most feature-laden pad available. How it stacks up against specific rivals is covered in D4 vs Flydigi Vader 4 Pro, D4 vs 8BitDo Ultimate 2, D4 vs GameSir G7 Pro and D4 vs DualShock 4. Whether the price is justified for you is the subject of is the AceGamer D4 worth it?

View the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 →

Full specification table

Every figure below is taken from AceGamer's official product listing for the HyperShadow D4. Items the listing does not publish are marked as such rather than estimated.

Specification AceGamer HyperShadow D4
Price $49.99 USD
Form factor Full-size wireless pro controller
Compatibility PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Switch 2, iOS, Android
Connectivity Bluetooth · 2.4G wireless receiver (included) · USB-C wired
Mode switching Rear selector: PS4 / Bluetooth / 2.4G
Wireless range Within 10 m
Joysticks JS13Pro TMR magnetic induction (drift-resistant)
Motion 6-axis motion sensor
Touchpad Clickable dual-point capacitive touchpad
Audio 3.5 mm TRRS headset + mic jack; built-in speaker (PS4 mode)
Vibration Dual grip motors + dual trigger haptic motors; 100% / 70% / 30% / Off
Back buttons M1 / M2 / M3 / M4 programmable; macros up to 24 inputs each
Triggers Two-stage travel switch: Micro-switch (short) or Linear (long)
Turbo Manual or auto on A, B, X, Y, L1, L2, R1, R2; three speed levels
FPS mode Zero-dead-zone mode for faster stick response
Battery 1000 mAh rechargeable
Battery life 7–20 hours, depending on mode and features in use
Charging USB-C; approx. 3 hours; DC 5 V; approx. 590 mA
Power draw 80–160 mA operating; ≤20 µA in sleep
Firmware Updatable over USB-C
Weight / dimensions Not published on the product listing
Polling rate Not published on the product listing

Which platforms does the D4 support?

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 supports PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Nintendo Switch 2, iOS and Android. That is a broad list for a single controller, and it deserves a platform-by-platform note, because how the D4 behaves differs by system.

PlayStation 4 is where the D4 is most complete. In PS4 mode, selected with the rear switch, the touchpad, the built-in speaker and the 3.5 mm headset jack are all active, which means PS4 games that use the touchpad for map screens or gestures, or that route audio cues through the controller speaker, work as they would with a DualShock 4. This is the distinction that separates the D4 from most third-party pro pads, which either do not support PlayStation at all or lack the touchpad and speaker. Setup is covered in how to connect the D4 to a PS4, and the PS4-specific features in using the D4's touchpad and speaker on PS4. For the wider category, see AceGamer's PS4 controllers.

PC gets the most connection options: Bluetooth, the included 2.4G receiver, or USB-C wired. The 2.4G dongle is the choice for low-latency wireless play, and wired removes wireless latency altogether while charging the controller. Connecting the D4 to a PC and 2.4G vs Bluetooth on PC cover the details.

Nintendo Switch and Switch 2 connect over Bluetooth for tabletop, docked and multiplayer play. AceGamer's listing does not state whether the D4 wakes the Switch 2 from sleep or supports amiibo, so this guide makes no claim either way — check the product page or the D4 Switch 2 setup guide for current behaviour.

iOS and Android pair over Bluetooth. On iOS, as with any third-party pad, controller support depends on the game; Android has broad system-level support. Phone pairing is covered in connecting the D4 to an iPhone or Android phone, and the D4 also pairs with a Steam Deck for docked and tabletop use.

Two platforms are notably absent from the list: PlayStation 5 and Xbox are not listed as supported. This guide does not claim compatibility the listing does not state. If you play primarily on PS5 or Xbox, the D4 is not the controller for that use, and it is better to know that before buying than after.

How does the D4 connect?

The D4 offers three connection methods: Bluetooth, a 2.4G wireless receiver, and USB-C wired. A rear mode selector switches between PS4, Bluetooth and 2.4G modes, and the wireless range is rated at up to 10 metres.

Each method suits a different situation. Bluetooth is the universal option — it pairs with phones, tablets, the Switch and Switch 2, and laptops without any accessory, and it is what you use on the go. The 2.4G receiver is the low-latency wireless option for PC: a dedicated dongle avoids the shared, congested Bluetooth band and typically delivers more consistent input timing, which is why competitive PC players favour it. USB-C wired removes wireless latency entirely, cannot drop mid-game, charges the controller while you play, and needs no pairing — which also makes it a quick way to confirm the controller is working if a wireless mode misbehaves.

Having all three in one pad matters more than it might seem. A controller with Bluetooth alone is fine for casual use but leaves competitive PC players wanting; a controller with only a dongle is awkward on phones. The D4 covers both, and the physical mode switch means changing between them is a flick rather than a re-pairing ritual. The mechanics of that switch are covered in switching D4 modes between PS4, Bluetooth and 2.4G. If a connection ever fails to establish, D4 not connecting: fixes covers what to check.

What are TMR joysticks, and why do they matter?

The D4 uses JS13Pro TMR magnetic induction joysticks. TMR stands for tunneling magnetoresistance, and it is the third and newest generation of joystick sensing technology in gaming controllers.

The lineage runs like this. Potentiometer sticks, used in most controllers for decades and still in the first-party DualShock 4, read position through a physical contact wiper sliding over a resistive track. That contact wears, which is the mechanical root of stick drift. Hall Effect sticks replaced the contact with a magnet and a Hall sensor, removing the wearing part and making drift far less likely. TMR sticks use the same contactless magnetic principle but with a tunneling magnetoresistance sensor, which is more sensitive to small changes in magnetic field. In practice, TMR offers finer resolution, lower power draw and strong drift resistance, which is why it has become the premium stick choice through 2025 and 2026.

Two honest qualifications belong here. First, TMR sticks are drift-resistant, not immune to every fault — the contactless sensor removes the main wear mechanism behind drift, but no controller is beyond all possible hardware issues, and describing TMR as a guarantee would overstate it. Second, the practical difference between a good Hall Effect stick and a TMR stick is real but subtle for most players; TMR's advantages show up most in precision-sensitive play and in power efficiency. The full explanation, including how the three generations compare, is in what is a TMR joystick?, with the head-to-head in TMR vs Hall Effect: which is better? and the direct question answered in do TMR controllers drift?

Why this matters for the D4 specifically: in 2026, TMR sticks mostly appear on controllers priced from about $60 upward. The D4 brings them to $49.99, which is the basis of its "affordable TMR" positioning — a category that, at the time of writing, has few occupants. That is why the D4 anchors AceGamer's TMR controller collection, and why the roundup of the best affordable TMR controllers uses it as a reference point.

What do the M1–M4 back buttons and macros do?

The D4 has four programmable back buttons, labelled M1, M2, M3 and M4, each supporting single-button remapping or macro sequences of up to 24 inputs.

Back buttons sit under your middle or ring fingers on the rear grips, so you can trigger an action without lifting a thumb off a stick. The most common use is single-button mapping — assigning, say, jump or reload to M1 so you keep aiming while you press it. This is the feature that competitive players value most on any pro controller, and it is why paddles and back buttons are the defining hallmark of the category.

The second use is macros. A macro records a sequence of inputs — up to 24 on the D4 — and plays them back from a single press. That suits complex combos in fighting games, multi-step build or crafting sequences, and any repeated input string you would rather not perform by hand. Twenty-four steps is generous; many controllers cap macros at far fewer, and some lack macro support entirely at this price. Two sensible cautions apply: macros are best used where they save effort rather than replace skill, and some competitive games have rules about macro use, so check before relying on them in ranked play.

Setup — recording, assigning and clearing macros — is walked through in setting up M1–M4 macros on the D4. For a broader look at what back buttons add and how they compare to paddles, see controller back buttons explained, and for the category roundup, the best controllers with back buttons under $50.

What are the trigger and vibration options?

The D4's triggers use two-stage travel switches with a Micro-switch mode and a Linear mode, and vibration comes from dual grip motors plus dual trigger haptic motors, with intensity settable to 100%, 70%, 30% or Off.

The trigger switch is a physical toggle that changes how far the trigger travels before it registers. Micro-switch mode shortens the travel to a crisp, clicky press — ideal for shooters, where a fast, tactile trigger pull is what you want. Linear mode restores the full analogue travel, which racing and flight games need for gradual throttle and brake control. Having both on a physical switch, rather than only in software, means you can change it in seconds between games. The mechanics and when to use each are covered in micro-switch vs linear triggers; the racing use case is in the best controllers for racing games.

On vibration, the D4 has motors in both grips and additional haptic motors in the triggers. Grip vibration is the familiar rumble; trigger haptics add feedback under your index fingers, which some games use for effects like weapon recoil or surface texture, depending on platform support. The four-level intensity control — full, 70%, 30% and off — is more granular than the on/off toggle many controllers offer, and turning vibration down is also one of the main levers for extending battery life, as covered below.

Touchpad, audio and motion: what does PS4 mode add?

In PS4 mode, the D4 adds a clickable dual-point capacitive touchpad, a 3.5 mm TRRS headset and microphone jack, and a built-in speaker. A 6-axis motion sensor is included for motion-controlled input.

These three PS4-mode features are what let the D4 stand in for a DualShock 4 rather than merely connect to a PS4. The touchpad supports two touch points and clicks like a button, so games that use it for map navigation, gestures or menu shortcuts respond as designed. The 3.5 mm jack takes a wired headset with a microphone, routing game and chat audio through the controller as the DualShock 4 does. The built-in speaker plays the controller-side audio cues that some PS4 games use.

The honest note is in the phrase "in PS4 mode": the touchpad, speaker and headset jack are PS4-mode features. On PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android, you should not expect those PS4-specific functions to behave as they do on a PS4, since those platforms do not use them the same way. This is normal — it reflects how the platforms work, not a shortcoming — but it is worth knowing so you buy the D4 for the right reasons. The full picture is in using the D4's touchpad and speaker on PS4, and the category comparison in the best PS4 controllers with a touchpad.

The 6-axis motion sensor enables motion aiming and gyro controls in games and platforms that support them. As with any controller, whether gyro is available depends on the game and how the platform exposes the sensor.

How long does the D4's battery last?

The D4 has a 1000 mAh rechargeable battery rated for 7 to 20 hours of play, depending on the connection mode and features in use, and it charges in approximately 3 hours over USB-C.

The wide range is the important detail, and it is worth being straightforward about it rather than quoting only the top figure. Battery life on a feature-rich controller varies with what is switched on. Vibration at full intensity, trigger haptics, the built-in speaker, and a headset drawing power through the 3.5 mm jack all pull the runtime toward the lower end; a Bluetooth session with vibration reduced and no speaker or headset pushes it toward the upper end. Seven hours is a realistic floor for a heavy PS4 session with everything active; twenty hours is a realistic ceiling for lean use.

The listed power figures back this up: the D4 draws 80 to 160 mA in operation, and just 20 µA or less in sleep, so it holds charge well when idle. Charging is around 590 mA at 5 V, which is why a full charge takes about three hours from a standard USB-C source. Playing wired on PC charges the controller as you play, which sidesteps the battery question for desk sessions altogether.

For comparison within AceGamer's range, the T50 pocket controller runs about 8 hours from a 400 mAh cell; the D4's larger battery and lean sleep current give it more headroom, though its richer feature set can consume that headroom quickly. A fuller treatment, with tips for stretching runtime, is in D4 battery life explained.

Turbo and FPS mode explained

The D4 supports manual or automatic Turbo on A, B, X, Y, L1, L2, R1 and R2, with three speed levels selected by holding the M button and moving the right stick up or down, and it includes an FPS zero-dead-zone mode.

Turbo makes a button fire repeatedly while held, sparing your thumb in games that demand rapid presses. Manual Turbo fires while you hold the button; automatic Turbo keeps firing until toggled off. The three speed levels let you match the fire rate to the game, which is a step beyond the single-speed Turbo on many pads. As with macros, check a competitive game's rules before using Turbo in ranked play.

FPS zero-dead-zone mode reduces the stick's centre dead zone — the small region around neutral where input is ignored — so that the slightest stick movement registers. In shooters, that translates to faster initial response when you begin an aim adjustment. The reason a mode like this is viable on the D4 is the TMR sticks: a contactless sensor with a stable centre can run a minimal dead zone without registering phantom input, whereas a worn potentiometer stick needs a dead zone to mask its own noise. The feature is explained in depth in FPS zero-dead-zone mode explained, and the D4's shooter credentials in the best budget controllers for FPS. Turbo setup and the trigger switches are covered together in the D4 Turbo and trigger settings guide.

How does the D4 differ from the T50?

Because both are AceGamer controllers, the D4 and T50 are often shopped together, and they are built for different buyers. The table makes the split clear.

Feature AceGamer HyperShadow D4 AceGamer T50
Form factor Full-size pro controller Foldable pocket controller
Price $49.99 $29.99
Joysticks JS13Pro TMR (drift-resistant) Standard analog
Connectivity Bluetooth + 2.4G + USB-C Bluetooth + USB-C
PS4 support Yes, with touchpad and speaker No
Back buttons M1–M4, 24-step macros None
Triggers Two-stage, micro-switch / linear Standard
Battery 1000 mAh, 7–20 h 400 mAh, ~8 h
Best for Precision, PS4, competitive and couch play Travel, phone, multi-device portability

In short: choose the D4 for precision sticks, back buttons and PS4 play at a desk or on a couch; choose the T50 for something that folds into a bag and pairs with everything you carry. Many players with both a PS4 or PC and a phone end up owning one of each. The full decision guide is D4 vs T50: pro or pocket?

What are the D4's honest limitations?

A specification page should be as clear about gaps as about strengths, so here is what the D4 does not do or does not publish.

PS5 and Xbox are not listed. The D4's console support is PS4, Switch and Switch 2. If you need a controller for PS5 or Xbox, look elsewhere; this guide will not stretch the listing.

The 7–20 hour battery range is wide. With vibration, speaker and a headset all active on PS4, expect the lower end. That is a fair trade for the feature set, but if maximum battery life is your top priority, a simpler controller with fewer active features will run longer.

Touchpad, speaker and headset jack are PS4-mode features. They do not carry their PS4 behaviour to other platforms.

Weight, dimensions and polling rate are not published on the product listing. This guide does not estimate them. Competing pro controllers sometimes advertise 1000 Hz or higher polling; without a published figure for the D4, no comparison on that point can be made honestly.

Switch 2 wake and amiibo behaviour are not stated. Some third-party controllers cannot wake the Switch 2 from sleep or read amiibo; the D4's listing is silent on both, so check before relying on either.

Only the black finish is confirmed. The listed SKU is D4-BLK; other colours are not assumed here.

None of these change the D4's core proposition — TMR sticks, PS4 support and pro features at $49.99 — but knowing them up front means the controller meets your expectations rather than surprising you.

Shipping, warranty and returns

AceGamer's store offers free shipping storewide, a one-year free replacement policy, and 30-day returns. Published delivery estimates are 3–7 days to the US and Europe, 5–15 days to Australia and New Zealand, and 5–12 days to Asia-Pacific and the Middle East. Full terms, conditions and any exclusions are held on AceGamer's official policy pages — warranty policy, returns and repairs, and payment and shipping — which are the authoritative source and should be read before purchase. This guide summarises those headline terms and does not add to them.

Frequently asked questions

How much does the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 cost?
The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is priced at $49.99 USD on the official AceGamer store, with free shipping storewide. The included 2.4G wireless receiver comes with the controller. For context, TMR-equipped pro controllers from other brands mostly cost $60 to $90 in 2026.

What joysticks does the D4 use?
The D4 uses JS13Pro TMR magnetic induction joysticks. TMR (tunneling magnetoresistance) is the newest generation of contactless stick sensing, offering fine resolution, low power draw and strong drift resistance. It is drift-resistant rather than immune to every fault, but it removes the contact wear that causes drift in potentiometer sticks.

Does the AceGamer D4 work with PS4?
Yes. In PS4 mode, selected with the rear switch, the D4 supports the clickable touchpad, built-in speaker and 3.5 mm headset jack, so PS4 games that use those features work as they would with a DualShock 4. PS5 is not listed as supported.

Does the D4 work with PS5 or Xbox?
Neither PS5 nor Xbox is listed as a supported platform for the D4. Its confirmed compatibility is PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android. If you play mainly on PS5 or Xbox, the D4 is not the right choice for that use.

How does the D4 connect to a PC?
Three ways: Bluetooth, the included 2.4G wireless receiver, or USB-C wired. The 2.4G dongle gives low-latency wireless play; USB-C wired removes wireless latency entirely and charges the controller while you play. A rear mode selector switches between PS4, Bluetooth and 2.4G.

What do the D4's back buttons do?
The four programmable back buttons, M1 to M4, support single-button remapping and macro sequences of up to 24 inputs each. Map an action to a back button so you can press it without lifting a thumb off a stick, or record a multi-step combo to play back from one press.

How long does the D4's battery last?
The 1000 mAh battery is rated for 7 to 20 hours, depending on connection mode and which features are active. Vibration, trigger haptics, the speaker and a wired headset pull runtime toward the lower end; lean Bluetooth use pushes it toward the upper end. A full charge takes about 3 hours over USB-C.

What is the D4's FPS zero-dead-zone mode?
It minimises the stick's centre dead zone so the slightest movement registers, giving faster initial response in shooters. The TMR sticks make this practical: a stable contactless sensor can run a minimal dead zone without phantom input, unlike a worn potentiometer stick that needs a dead zone to mask noise.

What are the two trigger modes on the D4?
A physical two-stage switch selects Micro-switch mode, a short crisp travel suited to shooters, or Linear mode, full analogue travel suited to racing and flight games. Switching is done on the controller in seconds, without software.

Does the D4 come with a warranty?
AceGamer's store offers a one-year free replacement policy, 30-day returns and free shipping storewide. Full terms and any exclusions are on the official warranty, returns and shipping policy pages, which are the authoritative source and worth reading before purchase.

Sources & methodology

All D4 specifications, the price, the included 2.4G receiver and the store policies on this page are taken from AceGamer's official product listing and policy pages as of September 2026. Where the listing does not publish a figure — weight, dimensions, polling rate, Switch 2 wake behaviour, amiibo support, additional colours — this guide says so rather than estimating. Competitor pricing context reflects the general market for TMR pro controllers and the DualShock 4 in 2026 and may change; specific comparisons are made in the linked head-to-head guides. Descriptions of TMR, Hall Effect and potentiometer technology reflect general industry understanding of joystick sensing.

Forrige Næste