AceGamer D4 vs 8BitDo Ultimate 2: TMR Controller Face-Off

Updated: September 3, 2026 · AceGamer Editorial

Quick answer — The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 and the 8BitDo Ultimate 2 are the two most affordable controllers with TMR joysticks, and they split cleanly by platform. The D4 ($49.99) is the pick if you own a PS4 — it is the only one of the two that supports PlayStation, complete with touchpad, speaker and headset jack — and it adds four back buttons with on-controller macros and app-free setup. The Ultimate 2 ($59.99) is the pick for PC players who want a charging dock, a documented 1000 Hz polling rate, RGB lighting and 8BitDo's deep profile software, and its Bluetooth edition is a strong Switch and Switch 2 pad — though reviewers note it cannot wake the console and has no headphone jack. Both use contactless TMR sticks; the decision is about everything around them.

AceGamer HyperShadow D4 beside the 8BitDo Ultimate 2 on its charging dock
Same stick technology, different priorities: PS4 and value on one side, dock and software on the other.

What are the D4 and the Ultimate 2?

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is a $49.99 full-size pro controller in the PlayStation layout. It uses JS13Pro TMR magnetic joysticks, supports PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android, and connects over Bluetooth, an included 2.4G receiver or USB-C, switched with a rear selector. It carries four back buttons (M1–M4) with on-controller macros of up to 24 inputs, two-stage triggers switchable between micro-switch and linear travel, dual grip and dual trigger vibration motors, a 6-axis motion sensor, Turbo, an FPS zero-dead-zone mode, and in PS4 mode a clickable touchpad, built-in speaker and 3.5 mm headset jack. Its manual confirms console wake-up on PS4 and a one-key wake-up for the Switch 2. Battery life is rated at 7–20 hours. Full details are in D4 specs and price and the D4 review.

The 8BitDo Ultimate 2 is a $59.99 pro controller in the Xbox layout from one of the best-known third-party makers. 8BitDo's own store lists TMR joysticks, Hall Effect triggers, a 1000 Hz polling rate, two back paddles plus L4 and R4 extra bumpers, 6-axis motion, vibration, Turbo, Ultimate Software V2, a 1000 mAh battery, dimensions of 147 × 103 × 61.3 mm and a weight of 246 g. It comes in two editions: the Wireless model with a 2.4G dongle for PC, Android and Apple devices, and a Bluetooth model aimed at the Switch and Switch 2. Both include a charging dock. GamesRadar's review calls it one of its new go-to pro controllers, singling out the TMR sticks, the jump to 1000 Hz from the original Ultimate's 250 Hz, and the light-up charging dock. Nintendo Life's review of the Switch edition is warmer on build and sticks but lists three specific misses: it cannot wake the console, it has no NFC support, and it has no headphone jack.

The one-line summary: two TMR controllers, one built around PS4 support and value, the other around PC convenience and software depth. Neither supports PS5 or Xbox.

D4 vs Ultimate 2: specs side by side

D4 figures are from AceGamer's listing and user manual. Ultimate 2 figures are from 8BitDo's official store and the reviews cited above. Where a figure is unpublished, the table says so.

Specification AceGamer HyperShadow D4 8BitDo Ultimate 2
Price $49.99 $59.99
Layout PlayStation (symmetrical, touchpad) Xbox (offset sticks)
Platforms PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS, Android Wireless: PC, Android, Apple · Bluetooth: Switch, Switch 2, PC
PS4 support Yes - touchpad, speaker, jack, console wake No
Joysticks JS13Pro TMR TMR, with RGB fire rings
Triggers Two-stage: micro-switch or linear Hall Effect, switchable analogue or tactile-click
Extra buttons 4 back (M1–M4), 24-step on-controller macros 2 back paddles + L4/R4 bumpers, mapped in software
Vibration Dual grip + dual trigger motors; 4 levels Two asymmetric motors
Motion 6-axis 6-axis
Connectivity Bluetooth · 2.4G receiver · USB-C 2.4G dongle (Wireless) or Bluetooth · USB-C
Polling rate Not published 1000 Hz (2.4G and wired)
Headphone jack 3.5 mm (PS4 mode) None
Charging dock No Included; stores the dongle
Configuration On the controller; no app Ultimate Software V2 (PC and mobile)
Console wake PS4 yes; Switch 2 yes after one-time setup (manual) Reviewers report it cannot wake the Switch
Battery Rated 7–20 h 1000 mAh; up to about 30 h claimed, 10–15 h reported with RGB
Weight / size Not published 246 g; 147 × 103 × 61.3 mm

Which platforms does each support?

This decides it for console players. The D4 supports PS4; the Ultimate 2 does not support PlayStation in any edition. The Ultimate 2's Bluetooth edition covers the Switch and Switch 2, which the D4 also supports. Neither supports PS5 or Xbox.

For a PS4 owner the comparison ends quickly. The D4's P4 mode provides a clickable touchpad, built-in speaker and 3.5 mm headset jack, and its manual confirms that pressing Home on a paired controller wakes the console. The Ultimate 2 has no PlayStation mode at all. Setup is in how to connect the D4 to a PS4.

For PC the two are close, with a wrinkle in the editions. The Ultimate 2 Wireless is built for PC first, with its dongle docked in the charging stand and support extending to Android and Apple devices. The D4 covers PC with the same three connection types and presents as an X-input controller by default. For the Switch family, the D4 lists both consoles; the Ultimate 2's Bluetooth edition does too. Here the D4's manual confirms a one-key Switch 2 wake-up after a one-time setup, while Nintendo Life's review reports the Ultimate 2 cannot wake the console — a small but daily difference for handheld owners who leave the console in sleep.

One practical caution for Ultimate 2 buyers: make sure the edition matches your platform. The Wireless model is not a Switch controller, and the Bluetooth model gives up the 2.4G dongle. The D4 avoids the choice by putting all three connection types and every platform in one unit, which is a real convenience for multi-platform households.

Both have TMR sticks — is there any difference?

In sensing technology, no meaningful difference: both use contactless tunneling-magnetoresistance sensors, so both are drift-resistant with fine resolution and low power draw. The differences are around the sticks — the Ultimate 2's RGB rings, and the D4's zero-dead-zone mode.

TMR is the newest generation of stick sensing, and both controllers have it. There is no wearing contact at the sensor, which removes the usual cause of drift, and the sensor's strong signal allows fine resolution. Reviewers of the Ultimate 2 describe the step from Hall Effect to TMR as real but not dramatic — Retro Handhelds calls it not a major upgrade over Hall sticks while noting the lower power draw helps battery. That is a fair reading for the D4's sticks too. The technology is explained in what is a TMR joystick? and the honest question answered in do TMR controllers drift?

The Ultimate 2's sticks are ringed with RGB lighting 8BitDo calls fire rings — a visual flourish that reviewers enjoy and consistently advise turning off to save battery. The D4's sticks have no lighting; its stick-related extra is an FPS zero-dead-zone mode, toggled per stick on the controller, which lets the TMR sensor's stable centre register the slightest input. Neither controller publishes stick tension or dead-zone figures, and the Ultimate 2's software exposes dead-zone tuning that the D4's on-controller setup does not. Call the sticks a draw and look elsewhere for the decision.

How do the triggers and vibration compare?

Close to parity on triggers — both switch between analogue travel and a short tactile pull — with the Ultimate 2 using Hall sensing in its analogue mode. On vibration the D4 has more motors and on-controller intensity control.

8BitDo's store lists Hall Effect triggers, and reviewers describe a switchable mode between analogue Hall travel and a tactile click. The D4's two-stage travel switches do the same job — micro-switch for shooters, linear for racing — on physical rear switches. The Ultimate 2's use of a Hall sensor for the analogue trigger is a premium detail; the D4's listing does not specify its trigger sensor, so no claim is made. The D4's trigger modes are explained in micro-switch vs linear triggers.

On vibration, the Ultimate 2 has two asymmetric motors in the grips. The D4 adds dual trigger haptic motors to its dual grip motors, sets intensity on the controller at 100%, 70%, 30% or off, and offers three trigger-motor modes in linear trigger mode. For players who value feedback under the index fingers, the D4 leads here; for players who turn vibration down anyway, it is a wash.

Which has better extra buttons?

Both have four remappable extras. The D4's are four back buttons with on-controller macros of up to 24 inputs; the Ultimate 2's are two back paddles plus L4 and R4 bumpers, mapped through 8BitDo's software. Count is equal; placement and method differ.

The D4 puts all four on the rear grips, M1 to M4, under the middle and ring fingers. Each holds a single remap or a recorded sequence, programmed by holding M and the back button, and the factory defaults map M1 to B, M2 to A, M3 to L3 and M4 to R3. The Ultimate 2 splits its extras: two paddles on the back and two bumpers, L4 and R4, on the shoulders beside the standard ones, all assigned in Ultimate Software V2. Some players prefer shoulder-mounted extras for index-finger reach; others prefer everything under the rear fingers. Neither is wrong.

The method difference is the larger one. On-controller macros mean the D4's assignments travel with it to a PS4, a PC and a phone with nothing installed; the Ultimate 2's live in software profiles, which is more visual and allows finer tuning but ties full customisation to the app. The D4's process is in setting up M1–M4 macros; the general case in controller back buttons explained.

Connectivity and polling rate: who leads?

Both offer 2.4G, Bluetooth and wired play — the D4 in one unit, the Ultimate 2 split across editions. The Ultimate 2 publishes a 1000 Hz polling rate on 2.4G and wired; the D4 publishes none, so on paper the Ultimate 2 leads.

The D4's rear selector switches between PS4, Bluetooth and 2.4G, with USB-C wired available in the latter modes, and it is rated for 10 metres of wireless range. The Ultimate 2 Wireless uses a 2.4G dongle that stows in the dock, plus Bluetooth and USB-C; the Bluetooth edition drops the dongle. GamesRadar's review notes the Ultimate 2's 1000 Hz rate was immediately noticeable against the original Ultimate's 250 Hz.

The D4's listing does not state a polling rate, and this guide will not infer one from its connection types. A 2.4G receiver and a wired mode are the right kinds of connection for low latency, but a documented figure is a documented figure. If a published 1000 Hz rate is a requirement, the Ultimate 2 meets it and the D4 does not. The D4's PC options are covered in 2.4G vs Bluetooth on the D4.

Does the charging dock matter?

For a desk-bound PC player, more than the spec sheet suggests. The Ultimate 2 includes a weighted dock that charges the controller and stores the 2.4G dongle; the D4 has no dock and charges over USB-C.

Reviewers are consistently fond of the Ultimate 2's dock. Retro Handhelds describes it as weighty, snug and with a slot for the USB dongle, and GamesRadar praises the light-up stand as a way to keep the controller charged and out of harm's way. The practical effect is that the controller is always charged and always in the same place, which suits a fixed desk setup.

The D4's answer is USB-C from any cable, power bank or the console's own port, plus a manual sleep timer of five, ten or thirty minutes to conserve charge. That suits a controller that moves between a PS4, a PC and a phone, where a dock tied to one desk is less useful. If you want a dock, the Ultimate 2 is the only one of the two that provides it; if your controller travels, the D4's approach is the more practical.

Software vs on-controller setup

The Ultimate 2 is configured through Ultimate Software V2 on PC and mobile; the D4 is configured entirely on the controller. Software offers deeper tuning and profiles; on-controller setup offers platform independence and nothing to install.

8BitDo's software is one of its strengths. Profiles, button mapping, stick and trigger tuning, RGB control and Turbo are all managed there, and reviewers credit the mobile app with making customisation accessible. The cost is dependency: full functionality lives in the app, and the controller's behaviour is shaped by whatever profile is loaded.

The D4 describes no companion app. Mode switching, trigger travel, vibration level and trigger-motor mode, Turbo assignment and speed, macro recording, FPS mode, sleep timer, LED brightness and calibration are all button combinations or physical switches documented in the manual. The advantage is that every setting behaves identically on PS4, PC, Switch and mobile with nothing installed; the disadvantage is no visual editor, no dead-zone slider and no saved profiles beyond what the controller retains — and the manual notes that settings are not saved in wired PC mode. Tinkerers will prefer 8BitDo's approach; multi-platform players will prefer the D4's. The D4's on-controller settings are in the Turbo and trigger settings guide.

Which has better battery life?

Neither is clearly ahead once real use is considered. The Ultimate 2's 1000 mAh cell is rated by reviewers at up to about 30 hours, but with RGB on they report 10 to 15 hours; the D4 is rated 7 to 20 hours depending on features in use. Both charge fully in about two to three hours.

The Ultimate 2's figures spread widely across sources. GamesRadar cites up to 30 hours with the dock; Nintendo Life calls the battery a touch weak, especially with the RGB lights on; and other reviews land between 10 and 15 hours with lighting enabled. The consistent advice is to switch the fire rings off. The D4's range is wide for a similar reason — its speaker, trigger haptics, full vibration and a wired headset pull toward the seven-hour floor, while lean Bluetooth use reaches toward twenty.

Read together, the two overlap heavily in practice, and the deciding factor is habit rather than capacity: the Ultimate 2's dock keeps it topped up at a desk; the D4 charges from the console or a power bank and sleeps automatically. Neither will trouble an evening's play. The D4's is unpacked in D4 battery life explained.

Price and value

The D4 lists at $49.99, the Ultimate 2 at $59.99, and both drop in sales — the Ultimate 2 has been seen below $50 during promotions. At list, the D4 is $10 cheaper and adds PS4 support, a touchpad, a headset jack and two more rear buttons; the Ultimate 2 adds a dock, published figures and software.

The value question is which extras you will use. A PC player who wants a dock, RGB and profile software gets all three only from the Ultimate 2, and $10 is a fair price for them. A PS4 owner, or a player who moves between several devices, gets nothing from a dock and everything from the D4's platform list and app-free setup. Both are priced well below the licensed pro pads that start near $80 for Xbox and near $180 for PS5. The wider field of TMR pads is in the best affordable TMR controllers, and the D4 against other rivals in D4 vs Flydigi Vader 4 Pro and D4 vs GameSir G7 Pro.

Which should you buy?

Your situation Buy Why
You play on a PS4 D4 The Ultimate 2 has no PlayStation support
You want a wired headset through the controller D4 3.5 mm jack in PS4 mode; the Ultimate 2 has none
You move between PS4, PC, Switch 2 and a phone D4 Every platform and connection type in one unit; no app
You want your Switch 2 to wake from the controller D4 Manual-confirmed after one-time setup; reviewers say the Ultimate 2 cannot
You want to spend less at list D4 $49.99 against $59.99
You play at a desk and want a charging dock Ultimate 2 Weighted dock included, stores the dongle
You need a documented 1000 Hz polling rate Ultimate 2 Published on 2.4G and wired; the D4 publishes none
You want profile software, RGB and published weight Ultimate 2 Ultimate Software V2; fire rings; 246 g documented
You prefer the Xbox layout Ultimate 2 Offset sticks; the D4 is PlayStation-style
You play on PS5 or Xbox Neither Neither lists those platforms

The honest verdict: the D4 for PS4 owners, multi-platform players and anyone who wants the most features per dollar; the Ultimate 2 for PC players who want a dock, published figures and software, and for Switch owners who prefer the Xbox layout and do not need console wake. Both are good TMR controllers; the platforms and the extras decide it. Browse the D4 in AceGamer's TMR controllers and pro controllers.

View the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 →

Frequently asked questions

Does the 8BitDo Ultimate 2 work on PS4?
No. Neither edition of the Ultimate 2 supports PlayStation. The AceGamer D4 does, with a clickable touchpad, built-in speaker and 3.5 mm headset jack in PS4 mode, and its manual confirms it wakes the console. For a PS4 owner the D4 is the only choice of the two.

Is the D4 better than the 8BitDo Ultimate 2?
It depends on platform. The D4 leads on PS4 support, headset jack, four rear back buttons with on-controller macros, app-free setup, Switch 2 wake and price. The Ultimate 2 leads on its charging dock, a documented 1000 Hz rate, RGB, profile software and published weight and dimensions. Both use TMR sticks.

Do both controllers use TMR sticks?
Yes. Both use contactless tunneling-magnetoresistance joysticks, so both are drift-resistant with fine resolution and low power draw. The Ultimate 2 adds RGB rings around its sticks; the D4 adds an FPS zero-dead-zone mode. In sensing technology there is no meaningful difference.

Which has more back buttons?
Both have four remappable extras. The D4 has four back buttons, M1 to M4, with on-controller macros of up to 24 inputs. The Ultimate 2 has two back paddles plus L4 and R4 shoulder bumpers, mapped in 8BitDo's software. Count is equal; placement and setup method differ.

Does the Ultimate 2 have a charging dock?
Yes, both editions include a dock, and the Wireless edition's dock stores its 2.4G dongle. Reviewers praise it as weighty and convenient. The D4 has no dock and charges over USB-C from any cable, power bank or the console's port, which suits a controller that moves between devices.

Which has a published polling rate?
The Ultimate 2 documents 1000 Hz on 2.4G and wired connections, up from the original Ultimate's 250 Hz. The D4 does not publish a polling rate, so none is claimed; its 2.4G and wired modes are the right connection types for low latency, but the figure is unverified.

Can the Ultimate 2 wake a Nintendo Switch?
Nintendo Life's review reports that it cannot wake the console, and also notes no NFC support and no headphone jack. The AceGamer D4's manual confirms a one-key Switch 2 wake-up after a one-time setup, and console wake on PS4 by pressing Home.

Which has better battery life?
They overlap. The Ultimate 2's 1000 mAh battery is cited at up to about 30 hours, but reviewers report 10 to 15 hours with its RGB lighting on and advise turning it off. The D4 is rated 7 to 20 hours depending on features in use. Both charge fully in roughly two to three hours.

Does either need an app?
The Ultimate 2 uses Ultimate Software V2 on PC and mobile for profiles, mapping and tuning. The D4 configures everything on the controller with switches and button combinations, so it needs no app and behaves identically on every platform, though it offers no visual profile editor.

Which is cheaper?
The D4, at $49.99 list against the Ultimate 2's $59.99. Both drop in sales, and the Ultimate 2 has been seen below $50 in promotions, which narrows the gap. At list the D4 is $10 less and includes PS4 support, a touchpad and a headset jack that the Ultimate 2 lacks.

Sources & methodology

AceGamer D4 specifications are from AceGamer's official listing and its V2.1 user manual as of September 2026, with battery life stated as the rated runtime range. 8BitDo Ultimate 2 specifications — TMR sticks, Hall triggers, 1000 Hz, extra buttons, software, battery capacity, weight and dimensions — are from 8BitDo's official store; edition details, dock, battery experience, console-wake, NFC and headphone-jack observations are paraphrased from the GamesRadar, Nintendo Life and Retro Handhelds reviews linked below. Prices are US list at the time of writing and move with sales. Where a figure is unpublished for either controller, this guide says so rather than estimating. No test measurements were taken.

Previous Next