AceGamer D4 vs DualShock 4: Upgrade Your PS4 Controller?

Updated: September 3, 2026 · AceGamer Editorial

Quick answer — If your DualShock 4 has started to drift and you want a replacement that will not repeat the problem, the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is the stronger buy: TMR magnetic joysticks instead of wearing potentiometers, the same clickable touchpad, built-in speaker and 3.5 mm headset jack in PS4 mode, four back buttons the DualShock 4 lacks, a larger 1000 mAh battery, and a $49.99 price below the DualShock 4's roughly $60–65 list. If you need an official controller — for PSVR light-bar tracking, guaranteed behaviour in every system menu, PS4 games on a PS5, or Sony's own warranty — the DualShock 4 remains the reference and the D4 does not claim to match those. This guide lays out both sides honestly for a PS4 owner deciding between them.

AceGamer HyperShadow D4 beside a Sony DualShock 4 PS4 controller
Same PS4 layout, different sticks: TMR magnetic sensing versus the DualShock 4's potentiometers.

What are the D4 and the DualShock 4?

The Sony DualShock 4 is the official PlayStation 4 controller, first released alongside the console in 2013 and revised in 2016. It has symmetrical analogue sticks using potentiometer sensors, a clickable two-point touchpad, a built-in speaker, a 3.5 mm headset jack, a light bar, a Share button, six-axis motion sensing, two rumble motors, analogue triggers, Bluetooth, and a micro-USB port for charging and wired play. It lists in the region of $60 to $65 in the US, is officially supported on PC, Mac, iOS and Android as well as the PS4, and works on a PS5 for PS4 games only. It has no back buttons; Sony sold a separate Back Button Attachment that is no longer in production.

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is a $49.99 third-party pro controller in the same PlayStation layout. It uses JS13Pro TMR magnetic induction joysticks, and in PS4 mode it provides a clickable dual-point capacitive touchpad, a built-in speaker and a 3.5 mm TRRS headset and microphone jack. It adds four programmable back buttons with 24-step macros, two-stage switchable triggers, dual grip motors plus dual trigger haptic motors, a 6-axis motion sensor, Turbo, an FPS zero-dead-zone mode, Bluetooth, an included 2.4G receiver and USB-C, and a 1000 mAh battery rated for 7–20 hours. It supports PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android. The full sheet is in D4 specs and price; the assessment in the D4 review.

The comparison, then, is between the official controller with the sticks most likely to drift and a third-party controller that fixes the sticks and adds pro features, at the cost of some official-only behaviours. The rest of this guide is about where that trade lands for you.

D4 vs DualShock 4: specs side by side

D4 figures are from AceGamer's official listing. DualShock 4 figures reflect Sony's published specifications and widely documented behaviour. Where the D4's listing is silent on a DualShock 4 feature, the table says "not stated" rather than assuming.

Specification AceGamer HyperShadow D4 Sony DualShock 4
Price (US list) $49.99 About $60–65
Status Third-party, current Official Sony controller
Joysticks JS13Pro TMR magnetic (contactless, drift-resistant) Potentiometer (contact-based, drift-prone with wear)
Touchpad Clickable dual-point (PS4 mode) Clickable two-point
Speaker Built-in (PS4 mode) Built-in
Headset jack 3.5 mm TRRS, headset + mic (PS4 mode) 3.5 mm, headset + mic
Light bar Not stated Yes (player ID, camera and PSVR tracking)
Back buttons M1–M4, macros up to 24 inputs None (discontinued attachment sold separately)
Triggers Two-stage: micro-switch or linear Analogue, single mode
Vibration Dual grip + dual trigger motors; 4 levels Two rumble motors
Motion 6-axis 6-axis
Turbo / FPS mode Turbo (3 speeds); zero-dead-zone mode None
Connectivity Bluetooth · 2.4G receiver · USB-C Bluetooth · micro-USB
Battery 1000 mAh; 7–20 h rated 1000 mAh (v2); commonly 4–8 h reported
Platforms PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS, Android PS4; PS5 (PS4 games only); PC, Mac, iOS, Android
Wakes PS4 from sleep Not stated Yes
Warranty AceGamer 1-year free replacement, 30-day returns Sony limited warranty (region-dependent)

Why do DualShock 4 sticks drift, and does TMR fix it?

The DualShock 4 uses potentiometer joysticks, which read position through a metal wiper sliding on a resistive track. That contact wears with use, and worn tracks are the usual cause of the drift DualShock 4 owners report after a year or two of heavy play. The D4's TMR sticks have no such contact, so that cause is absent.

Drift is the single most common reason a PS4 owner shops for a new controller, so it is worth being precise about what is happening. Inside a potentiometer stick, the wiper spends most of its life near the centre of the track, which is where wear concentrates. As the track abrades, the resistance the controller reads at true centre no longer matches the value it was calibrated to expect, and the controller begins to see a small input when the stick is at rest — a character creeping forward, a camera slowly panning, a menu cursor that will not sit still. Debris and oxidation on the track add jumpy readings on top. Sony's firmware applies a dead zone to mask small errors, but once wear exceeds it, the drift shows through. Cheap replacement potentiometer modules exist, but they are the same technology and wear the same way.

The D4's JS13Pro TMR sticks sense position magnetically. A magnet moves with the stick; a fixed tunneling-magnetoresistance sensor reads the field; nothing touches the sensing element. There is no wiper and no track, so the wear that drives DualShock 4 drift does not occur. TMR is the newest of the contactless technologies, a step beyond the Hall Effect sticks that third-party controllers adopted first, with finer resolution and lower power draw. The mechanism is explained fully in what is a TMR joystick?

Two honest qualifications. First, TMR sticks are drift-resistant, not a guarantee against every fault: the gimbal and centring springs are still mechanical and can wear over a very long life, though far more slowly than a potentiometer track. Second, drift resistance is shared with Hall Effect controllers, so the D4 is not the only drift-resistant PS4 option — it is the one that combines TMR with PS4 support and a sub-$50 price. The question is treated on its own in do TMR controllers drift? For a drifting DualShock 4, the practical conclusion is straightforward: replacing it with another potentiometer controller invites the same failure, and replacing it with a contactless one addresses the cause.

Does the D4 keep the touchpad, speaker and headset jack?

Yes. In PS4 mode the D4 provides a clickable dual-point capacitive touchpad, a built-in speaker and a 3.5 mm TRRS headset and microphone jack — the three DualShock 4 features that most third-party PS4 controllers drop.

This matters because PS4 games were designed around the DualShock 4. Many use the touchpad for the map, inventory, gestures or a menu shortcut; some route audio cues or voice lines through the controller speaker; and the headset jack is how a wired headset carries game and chat audio without a separate adapter. A PS4 controller missing any of the three breaks something in a meaningful number of games, which is why the cheapest third-party pads — which usually omit them — make poor DualShock 4 replacements even when their sticks are fine.

The D4 replicates all three, so in day-to-day PS4 play it stands in for the DualShock 4 rather than merely connecting to the console. The boundary to know is that these are PS4-mode features: on PC, Switch and mobile the touchpad, speaker and jack do not carry their PS4 behaviour, because those platforms do not use them the same way. That is how the platforms work rather than a shortcoming, but a buyer should not expect a PS4 touchpad experience elsewhere. Details are in using the D4's touchpad and speaker on PS4, and the category view in the best PS4 controllers with a touchpad.

What does the DualShock 4 do that the D4 does not claim?

The DualShock 4 is Sony's own controller, and several behaviours follow from that which the D4's listing does not state and this guide will not assume. A fair comparison names them.

Waking the console. Pressing the PS button on a DualShock 4 turns on a sleeping PS4. The D4's listing does not say whether it does the same, so it should not be relied upon to; waking the console from its own button is the safe assumption until confirmed.

The light bar. The DualShock 4's light bar identifies players by colour and, more importantly, is what the PlayStation Camera tracks for PSVR and for the handful of games that use camera tracking. The D4's listing mentions no light bar. If you own PSVR, the DualShock 4 is required for tracked play and the D4 is not a substitute.

PS4 games on a PS5. Sony supports the DualShock 4 on a PS5 for playing PS4 titles. The D4's platform list does not include the PS5 in any capacity, and this guide makes no PS5 claim.

System-level integration. Share-button capture, Remote Play pairing, PlayStation App companion features and every system menu behave exactly as designed with the official pad. The D4 handles gameplay input and the PS4-mode features it lists; any behaviour beyond that should be treated as unconfirmed rather than expected.

Sony's warranty and ecosystem. A DualShock 4 carries Sony's limited warranty and the assurance of first-party support. The D4 carries AceGamer's one-year free replacement and 30-day returns, which are real terms but a different company's terms. Full conditions are on AceGamer's warranty policy and returns and repairs pages.

None of these affect the core gameplay case for the D4 — sticks, touchpad, speaker, jack and back buttons — but each is a legitimate reason a particular buyer might still choose the official controller, and it would be dishonest to leave them out.

What does the D4 add that the DualShock 4 lacks?

Beyond the sticks, the D4 adds four back buttons with macros, switchable trigger travel, trigger haptics, a 2.4G dongle and USB-C, Turbo, an FPS mode and a larger battery — the features that define a pro controller and that Sony never built into the DualShock 4.

Back buttons. The D4's M1 to M4 sit under your middle or ring fingers and support single-button remapping or macro sequences of up to 24 inputs. Mapping jump, reload or crouch to a back button keeps both thumbs on the sticks, which is the feature competitive players most miss on the DualShock 4. Sony's answer was a separately sold Back Button Attachment, now discontinued and adding only two buttons. Setup is in setting up M1–M4 macros.

Two-stage triggers. A physical switch selects a short micro-switch pull for shooters or full linear travel for racing and flight games. The DualShock 4's triggers are analogue only, with no short mode. The trade-offs are in micro-switch vs linear triggers.

Trigger haptics and vibration control. The D4 adds haptic motors in the triggers to the grip motors, with intensity at 100%, 70%, 30% or off. The DualShock 4 has two grip rumble motors and no trigger feedback. The DualSense brought trigger haptics to PS5; on PS4 the DualShock 4 never had them.

Connections. The D4 offers Bluetooth, an included 2.4G receiver and USB-C wired. The DualShock 4 offers Bluetooth and micro-USB — an older connector that shares cables with nothing else you own in 2026. On PC in particular, the D4's 2.4G dongle and wired mode are the low-latency options the DualShock 4 lacks.

Turbo and FPS mode. Turbo on the face buttons and bumpers with three speeds, and a zero-dead-zone mode that lets the TMR sticks register the slightest movement — practical only because the sensor has a stable centre, as explained in FPS zero-dead-zone mode explained.

The honest framing: these are additions rather than replacements. A player who never uses back buttons or trigger modes gains mostly the sticks and the battery, which are still the two things most DualShock 4 owners want fixed.

Battery and charging: which lasts longer?

The D4's 1000 mAh battery is rated for 7 to 20 hours; the DualShock 4 is widely reported at around 4 to 8 hours per charge, and its short battery life is one of its best-known weaknesses. The D4 charges over USB-C; the DualShock 4 over micro-USB.

The DualShock 4's battery has been a complaint since launch. Its light bar draws power constantly and cannot be turned off, only dimmed, and its rumble and speaker add to the load, so real-world runtimes in the mid-single digits are common. The D4's range is wider because it has more to power: heavy PS4 use with vibration, speaker and a wired headset lands near seven hours, while lean Bluetooth use pushes toward twenty. Even at the low end, the D4 sits at or above the DualShock 4's typical figure, and at the high end it is far beyond it.

Charging is a quieter but real difference. USB-C means the D4 charges from the same cables and power banks as a phone, a Switch 2 or a laptop; micro-USB means keeping a legacy cable around for one device. The D4 charges in about three hours and, when played wired on PC, charges while in use. Battery habits that stretch runtime are in D4 battery life explained.

Which is better on PC and other platforms?

On PC the D4 is the more capable controller; the DualShock 4 is better integrated but more limited. On mobile both work over Bluetooth. Only the D4 supports the Nintendo Switch and Switch 2; only the DualShock 4 works on a PS5, and then for PS4 games alone.

The DualShock 4 is well supported on PC through Steam Input, and over Bluetooth or micro-USB it works with most games. It lacks a low-latency wireless option, its touchpad is treated as a trackpad or mapped input rather than a PS4 touchpad, and outside Steam some games need a translation layer. The D4 connects over Bluetooth, its 2.4G dongle or USB-C, gives you back buttons and trigger modes on PC as well as PS4, and configures those features on the controller without software. For a PC-and-PS4 player, that is a meaningful gain. PC setup is in connecting the D4 to a PC and 2.4G vs Bluetooth on the D4.

On iOS and Android both pair over Bluetooth, with controller support depending on the game. The D4 additionally lists the Nintendo Switch and Switch 2, which the DualShock 4 does not support. In the other direction, the DualShock 4 works on a PS5 for PS4 titles; the D4 does not list the PS5. Neither controller lists Xbox. For a player whose devices span a PS4, a PC, a Switch 2 and a phone, the D4 covers all of them; the DualShock 4 covers the PS4, the PC and the phone.

Price and value

The D4 lists at $49.99. A new DualShock 4 lists at roughly $60 to $65 in the US, with pricing that has risen over the years and stock that varies by colour and retailer. The D4 is the less expensive controller and adds features rather than removing them.

Price alone would settle this for most buyers, but the value question is really about what each dollar buys. The DualShock 4's price buys official status, the light bar, PS5 backward compatibility and Sony's warranty, with the sticks that drift as the known cost. The D4's price buys drift-resistant TMR sticks, the same touchpad, speaker and jack, back buttons, trigger modes, trigger haptics, a 2.4G dongle, USB-C and a bigger battery, with third-party status as the known cost.

The one caution is the used market. Second-hand DualShock 4s sell cheaply, but a large share arrive already drifting or close to it, since the sticks are the wear item. A used official controller is a gamble on the part most likely to fail; a new D4 avoids the gamble. Whether the D4's price is right for you specifically is the subject of is the D4 worth it?, and the D4 against other third-party PS4 options is in the best third-party PS4 controllers.

Which should you buy?

Your situation Buy Why
Your DualShock 4 drifts and you want it not to happen again D4 TMR sticks remove the cause; a new DualShock 4 repeats it
You want back buttons on PS4 D4 M1–M4 with macros; the DualShock 4 has none
Battery life frustrates you D4 7–20 h rated vs roughly 4–8 h; USB-C charging
You also play on PC, Switch 2 or a phone D4 One pad covers all of them, with 2.4G and USB-C for PC
You want to spend less D4 $49.99 against roughly $60–65
You use PSVR or camera-tracked games DualShock 4 Light-bar tracking; the D4 lists no light bar
You play PS4 games on a PS5 DualShock 4 Officially supported; the D4 does not list the PS5
You need every system feature to behave exactly as Sony designed DualShock 4 Official integration; the D4's unstated behaviours are unconfirmed
You want Sony's own warranty DualShock 4 First-party support; the D4 has AceGamer's terms instead

The plain verdict: for gameplay on a PS4 — sticks, touchpad, speaker, headset, back buttons, battery — the D4 is the better controller and costs less. For the official-only behaviours — light-bar tracking, PS5 backward compatibility, guaranteed system integration and Sony's warranty — the DualShock 4 remains the one to buy, and the D4 does not pretend otherwise. Most PS4 owners replacing a drifting pad fall into the first group. Browse the D4 in AceGamer's PS4 controllers or TMR controllers, and see it against other rivals in D4 vs Flydigi Vader 4 Pro and D4 vs 8BitDo Ultimate 2.

View the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 →

Frequently asked questions

Is the AceGamer D4 a good replacement for a DualShock 4?
For gameplay, yes. It keeps the touchpad, speaker and headset jack in PS4 mode, replaces potentiometer sticks with drift-resistant TMR sticks, adds four back buttons and a larger battery, and costs less. It does not claim official-only behaviours such as light-bar tracking, PS5 support or waking the console.

Why does my DualShock 4 drift?
Its potentiometer sticks read position through a wiper sliding on a resistive track, and the track wears with use, especially near centre. Once wear exceeds the firmware's dead zone, the controller reads a small input at rest. Replacing it with another potentiometer controller repeats the cycle; a contactless TMR or Hall Effect stick removes the cause.

Does the D4 have a touchpad like the DualShock 4?
Yes. In PS4 mode the D4 has a clickable dual-point capacitive touchpad, plus a built-in speaker and a 3.5 mm headset and microphone jack, so PS4 games that use those features behave as they would with a DualShock 4. These are PS4-mode features and do not carry the same behaviour to other platforms.

Does the D4 work on PS5?
No. The D4's supported platforms are PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android; the PS5 is not listed and no PS5 claim is made. The DualShock 4 works on a PS5 for PS4 games only.

Can the D4 wake a PS4 from sleep?
The D4's listing does not state its wake behaviour, so this guide does not claim it. The DualShock 4 wakes the console with its PS button. Until confirmed for the D4, wake the PS4 from the console or a DualShock 4 and then play with the D4.

Does the D4 work with PSVR?
The D4's listing mentions no light bar, and PSVR relies on the PlayStation Camera tracking the DualShock 4's light bar. For tracked PSVR play, use the DualShock 4; the D4 is not presented as a PSVR controller.

Which has better battery life?
The D4, rated at 7 to 20 hours from a 1000 mAh battery depending on features in use. The DualShock 4 is widely reported at around 4 to 8 hours, with an always-on light bar contributing to the drain. The D4 also charges over USB-C rather than micro-USB.

Does the D4 have back buttons?
Yes, four programmable back buttons, M1 to M4, supporting single-button remapping and macro sequences of up to 24 inputs. The DualShock 4 has none; Sony's separate Back Button Attachment added two and is no longer produced.

Which is cheaper?
The D4, at $49.99. A new DualShock 4 lists at roughly $60 to $65 in the US, with prices that have risen over the years and stock that varies by colour. Used DualShock 4s are cheaper but frequently arrive already drifting, since the sticks are the wear item.

What does the DualShock 4 do better?
It is the official controller: it wakes the console, its light bar supports PSVR and camera tracking, it works on a PS5 for PS4 games, every system feature behaves as Sony designed, and it carries Sony's warranty. The D4 does not claim those; it competes on sticks, features, battery and price.

Sources & methodology

AceGamer D4 specifications, price and store policies are from AceGamer's official listing and policy pages as of September 2026. DualShock 4 specifications and behaviours — potentiometer sticks, touchpad, speaker, headset jack, light bar, micro-USB, motion sensing, platform support and PS5 backward compatibility for PS4 games — reflect Sony's published product information and widely documented behaviour; its US list price and typical reported battery life reflect the general market and common user reporting rather than a single test. Where the D4's listing does not state a behaviour the DualShock 4 has, this guide marks it as not stated rather than assuming. No test measurements were taken.

Anterior Siguiente