AceGamer D4 vs GameSir G7 Pro: Which TMR Controller?

Updated: September 3, 2026 · AceGamer Editorial

Quick answer — The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 and the GameSir G7 Pro both use TMR joysticks, and they are built for different consoles. The D4 ($49.99) is the choice for PS4 owners — the G7 Pro has no PlayStation support in any edition — and for anyone who wants a PlayStation-style layout, four rear back buttons with on-controller macros, and app-free setup at the lowest price. The G7 Pro ($79.99 standard, $89.99 for the 8K PC edition) is the choice for Xbox owners, since it is Xbox-licensed for wired play, and for PC players who want optical micro-switch face buttons, a mechanical D-pad, a documented 1000 Hz or 8000 Hz polling rate, a swappable faceplate and a charging dock. The sticks are a draw; the console you own and the extra $30 to $40 decide it.

AceGamer HyperShadow D4 beside the GameSir G7 Pro Xbox-layout controller
PlayStation layout and PS4 support on one side; Xbox licence, micro-switch buttons and 8K polling on the other.

What are the D4 and the G7 Pro?

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is a $49.99 pro controller in the PlayStation layout. It uses JS13Pro TMR joysticks, supports PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android, and connects over Bluetooth, an included 2.4G receiver or USB-C via a rear selector. It has four back buttons (M1–M4) with on-controller macros of up to 24 inputs, two-stage triggers switchable between micro-switch and linear travel, dual grip and dual trigger vibration motors, a 6-axis motion sensor, Turbo, an FPS zero-dead-zone mode, and in PS4 mode a clickable touchpad, built-in speaker and 3.5 mm headset jack. Its manual confirms PS4 console wake and a one-key Switch 2 wake-up. Battery life is rated at 7–20 hours. The full sheet is in D4 specs and price and the assessment in the D4 review.

The GameSir G7 Pro is a pro controller in the Xbox layout, released in August 2025, that reviewers consistently describe as premium hardware at a mid-range price. PCGamesN's review lists 2.4G, wired and Bluetooth connections, an internal rechargeable battery, Xbox and PC platforms, dimensions of 152 × 103 × 58 mm, a weight of 272 g and a price of $79.99, and summarises it as taking the Xbox format and adding switchable rapid triggers, switchable rear paddles, a removable faceplate, TMR thumbsticks and a docking station for about $30 more than a standard Xbox pad. The Outer Haven's review details GameSir's Mag-Res TMR sticks, Hall Effect analogue triggers with micro-switch trigger stops, optical micro-switch ABXY buttons, a mechanical micro-switch D-pad, four rumble motors, and four extra buttons — L4 and R4 on the back plus L5 and R5 mini bumpers. GameSir's own page adds a 1000 Hz polling rate on PC over wired and 2.4G, a 3.5 mm audio jack that works over wired and 2.4G, a gyro with mapping on PC, and a three-part magnetic faceplate.

The one-line summary: the D4 is the affordable multi-platform pro pad with PS4 support; the G7 Pro is the affordable Xbox-and-PC pro pad with premium switches and documented latency. Neither supports PS5.

Which G7 Pro editions exist, and why does it matter?

Three, and they differ in platform support, not just colour. The standard G7 Pro ($79.99) works on Xbox wired and PC wireless. The G7 Pro 8K editions ($89.99) are PC-only with an 8000 Hz rate. An Xbox-wireless edition costs $99.99. Buying the wrong one is an easy mistake.

The Outer Haven spells out the split: the standard G7 Pro supports wired play on Xbox and both wired and wireless on PC, and wireless play on console requires the separate WuChang Fallen Feathers edition at $99.99. Notebookcheck's review makes the same point, noting that Xbox players cannot use the standard model wirelessly. The 8K editions go the other way: Notebookcheck reports that the Nioh 3 edition runs at 8,000 Hz over wired or 2.4G on PC, carries second-generation Mag-Res TMR sticks, Hall triggers with stops, four macro buttons, optical micro-switch face buttons, a mechanical D-pad, a 6-axis gyro, a 1,200 mAh battery and a $89.99 price — and is not compatible with Xbox consoles. GamingTrend's review of the Aimlabs 8K edition notes that consoles and mobile devices do not support the 8K functionality at all.

The practical reading: an Xbox owner should buy the standard or Xbox-wireless edition; a PC-only player who wants 8K should buy an 8K edition; nobody should expect one G7 Pro to do everything. The D4 has one edition, and it covers every platform it lists in that one unit, which is a simpler proposition for a multi-device household.

D4 vs G7 Pro: specs side by side

D4 figures are from AceGamer's listing and user manual. G7 Pro figures are from GameSir's product page and the reviews cited in this guide; the standard edition is shown unless noted. Where a figure is unpublished, the table says so.

Specification AceGamer HyperShadow D4 GameSir G7 Pro (standard)
Price $49.99 $79.99 (8K PC edition $89.99; Xbox-wireless edition $99.99)
Layout PlayStation (symmetrical, touchpad) Xbox (offset sticks)
Platforms PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS, Android Xbox Series X|S and One (wired), PC, Android
PlayStation support PS4 - touchpad, speaker, jack, console wake None
Xbox support None Licensed; wired on console
Joysticks JS13Pro TMR Mag-Res TMR
Triggers Two-stage: micro-switch or linear Hall Effect analogue with micro-switch stops
Face buttons / D-pad Standard (not specified) Optical micro-switch ABXY; mechanical micro-switch D-pad
Extra buttons 4 back (M1–M4), 24-step on-controller macros 4: L4/R4 back + L5/R5 mini bumpers, software-mapped
Vibration Dual grip + dual trigger motors; 4 levels Four rumble motors
Motion 6-axis, all platforms as supported Gyro with mapping, PC only
Connectivity Bluetooth · 2.4G receiver · USB-C 2.4G and wired (PC) · wired (Xbox) · Bluetooth (Android)
Polling rate Not published 1000 Hz on PC; 8000 Hz on 8K editions
Audio jack 3.5 mm (PS4 mode) 3.5 mm (wired and 2.4G)
Faceplate Fixed Three-part magnetic, swappable
Dock No Included
Configuration On the controller; no app GameSir Nexus / Connect software
Battery Rated 7–20 h Internal rechargeable; 8K edition 1,200 mAh
Weight / size Not published 272 g; 152 × 103 × 58 mm

Which platforms does each support?

They are mirror images. The D4 supports PS4 and not Xbox; the G7 Pro supports Xbox and not PlayStation. Both cover PC and Android; only the D4 lists the Switch, Switch 2 and iOS. Neither supports PS5.

For a console owner this settles the comparison before any other feature. A PS4 owner cannot use the G7 Pro; an Xbox owner cannot use the D4. The D4's P4 mode brings a working touchpad, speaker and headset jack, and its manual confirms that Home wakes the console — setup is in how to connect the D4 to a PS4. The G7 Pro's Xbox licence brings official console compatibility, with the caveat every reviewer repeats: on the standard edition it is wired only on the console, and wireless Xbox play costs $20 more.

For PC the two overlap, with the G7 Pro offering documented polling figures and the D4 offering Bluetooth in the same unit — the G7 Pro reserves Bluetooth for Android. For the Nintendo Switch and Switch 2, only the D4 is listed, with a manual-confirmed Switch 2 wake-up after a one-time setup. For a player who owns a PS4 or a Switch 2 alongside a PC, the D4 covers more; for a player who owns an Xbox alongside a PC, the G7 Pro is the only one of the two that fits.

Both have TMR sticks — is there a difference?

Not in sensing technology. Both use contactless tunneling-magnetoresistance sensors, so both are drift-resistant with fine resolution and low power draw. GameSir's 8K editions advertise a second-generation Mag-Res stick; the D4 offers an FPS zero-dead-zone mode. Treat the sticks as a draw.

TMR is the newest generation of stick sensing, and reviewers of both brands describe it in similar terms — precise, durable, and resistant to the wear that drifts potentiometer sticks. The Outer Haven credits the G7 Pro's TMR sticks with precision and durability rivalling more expensive pads; the same holds for the D4's JS13Pro sticks. The mechanism is explained in what is a TMR joystick? and the drift question in do TMR controllers drift?

Two peripheral differences. Notebookcheck reports that the 8K editions carry GameSir's second-generation Mag-Res sticks, and the G7 Pro ships with additional thumbstick caps; the D4 has one stick type and no spare caps. On the D4's side, the zero-dead-zone FPS mode, toggled per stick on the controller, lets the sensor's stable centre register the smallest input. Neither publishes stick tension or resolution figures, so no numerical claim is made either way.

Micro-switch buttons vs membrane: does it matter?

For players who care about button feel, yes, and it is the G7 Pro's clearest hardware advantage. Its optical micro-switch ABXY buttons and mechanical D-pad give an instant, clicky actuation that the D4's standard face buttons do not claim to match.

This is worth crediting plainly. The Outer Haven lists optical micro-switch ABXY and a mechanical micro-switch D-pad among the G7 Pro's defining features, and Best Buy reviewers describe the actuation as instant with no mushy feel. Micro-switch face buttons are rare at any price and unusual under $100; they suit fighting games, platformers and anything where a crisp press matters.

The D4's listing does not specify its face-button switch type, so this guide describes them as standard and makes no claim of micro-switch feel. Where the D4 invests instead is in the triggers, the back buttons and the PS4 feature set. A player choosing on button feel alone should choose the G7 Pro; a player choosing on platform or price should not let this decide it.

Which has better extra buttons and triggers?

Both have four extras and switchable triggers. The D4's four are all rear back buttons with on-controller macros; the G7 Pro splits its four between two back buttons and two mini bumpers, mapped in software. Both switch between a short click and full analogue trigger travel.

The D4's M1 to M4 sit on the rear grips, each holding a remap or a recorded sequence of up to 24 inputs, programmed by holding M and the back button; factory defaults are M1 to B, M2 to A, M3 to L3 and M4 to R3. The G7 Pro's L4 and R4 are back buttons and L5 and R5 are mini bumpers beside the standard shoulders, assigned through GameSir's software. Count is equal; placement preference and the on-controller-versus-app question decide it. The D4's process is in setting up M1–M4 macros.

On triggers, the G7 Pro pairs Hall Effect analogue sensing with micro-switch trigger stops, so a switch converts the pull to a click. The D4's two-stage travel switches do the same job on physical rear switches, between micro-switch and linear modes; the D4's listing does not specify its trigger sensor, so the G7 Pro holds the documented Hall-trigger advantage. Both offer four vibration motors, with the D4 setting intensity on the controller at four levels and offering three trigger-motor modes. The trigger trade-offs are in micro-switch vs linear triggers.

Polling rate: how much does 8K buy you?

The G7 Pro documents 1000 Hz on PC, and its 8K editions document 8000 Hz on PC over wired or 2.4G; the D4 publishes no polling rate. On the numbers the G7 Pro leads outright. Whether 8000 Hz is perceptible is a separate question.

GameSir's page states a 1000 Hz rate on PC over both wired and 2.4G for the standard edition, and Notebookcheck reports 8,000 Hz for the 8K editions in the same modes. Independent latency testing of the 8K Aimlabs edition records sub-millisecond polling intervals over cable. Those are documented, measured figures, and the D4 cannot match them on paper because its listing publishes none.

Two honest qualifications. First, 8K polling is PC-only: GamingTrend's review notes that consoles and mobile devices do not support the 8K functionality, and Best Buy reviewers make the same point, so an Xbox owner gets 1000 Hz at best. Second, the perceptible gain from 1000 Hz to 8000 Hz is small for most players and matters most to competitive shooter players on high-refresh displays. The D4's 2.4G and wired modes are the right connection types for low latency, but "right type" is not a number, and this guide will not infer one. If a documented rate is a requirement, the G7 Pro meets it and the D4 does not. The D4's connection options are in 2.4G vs Bluetooth on the D4.

Software vs on-controller setup

The G7 Pro is configured through GameSir's Nexus or Connect software, which reviewers find capable but uneven; the D4 is configured entirely on the controller. Depth versus portability, again.

GameSir's software handles button mapping, trigger and stick tuning and profiles, and Best Buy reviewers praise it as a step beyond the Xbox Elite's app. Notebookcheck's verdict is more mixed — excellent hardware, lacking software — which is a fair warning that the app is the weakest part of the package. Profiles live in the software, and the full feature set is reached through a PC or an Xbox app.

The D4 describes no companion app. Mode switching, trigger travel, vibration level and trigger-motor mode, Turbo, macro recording, FPS mode, sleep timer, LED brightness and calibration are all switches or button combinations documented in the manual, so every setting behaves identically on PS4, PC, Switch and mobile with nothing installed. The trade-off is no visual editor, no dead-zone slider and, per the manual, no saved settings in wired PC mode. Tinkerers will prefer the G7 Pro's software once it cooperates; multi-platform players will prefer the D4's approach. The D4's settings are in the Turbo and trigger settings guide.

Battery, dock and charging

The G7 Pro includes a charging dock and, in its 8K edition, a 1,200 mAh battery; the D4 has no dock and is rated at 7 to 20 hours depending on use. Neither publishes a runtime figure the other can be compared against directly.

Reviewers list the G7 Pro's dock and internal rechargeable battery among its highlights, and GamingTrend notes the 8K edition ships with a charging station, a long cable, a cable retainer and the dongle. That is a complete desk package. GameSir's standard-edition page does not state a battery capacity in the coverage cited here, so this guide gives the 8K edition's 1,200 mAh figure only.

The D4's rated range is wide because its speaker, trigger haptics, full vibration and a wired headset pull toward seven hours while lean Bluetooth use reaches toward twenty; it charges over USB-C in about three hours, sleeps automatically after ten minutes by default, and charges from a console port while playing. For a desk-bound PC player the G7 Pro's dock is the more convenient arrangement; for a controller that moves between a PS4, a PC and a phone, USB-C anywhere is the more practical one. The D4's is unpacked in D4 battery life explained.

Price and value

The D4 lists at $49.99; the G7 Pro at $79.99 for the standard edition, $89.99 for 8K and $99.99 for Xbox wireless. The gap is $30 to $50, and what it buys is micro-switch buttons, a dock, a faceplate, documented polling and an Xbox licence.

Reviewers are unanimous that the G7 Pro is strong value against $150-plus premium pads — PCGamesN calls it fantastic value for competing with the Elite Series 2's feature set at half the price. That is true, and it is also true that the D4 sits $30 below it with TMR sticks, four back buttons, switchable triggers and a platform list that includes PS4 and the Switch family. The comparison is between two well-priced controllers at different tiers, not between a bargain and an overpriced one.

The value question is therefore which extras you will use. An Xbox owner has no choice but the G7 Pro; a PS4 owner has no choice but the D4. A PC player pays $30 more for the G7 Pro's button feel, dock, faceplate and documented rate, or $30 less for the D4's Bluetooth, PlayStation layout and app-free setup. Both are sound decisions for the buyer they fit. The wider TMR field is in the best affordable TMR controllers, and the D4 against other rivals in D4 vs 8BitDo Ultimate 2 and D4 vs Flydigi Vader 4 Pro.

Which should you buy?

Your situation Buy Why
You play on a PS4 D4 The G7 Pro has no PlayStation support
You play on an Xbox G7 Pro Xbox-licensed; the D4 has no Xbox support
You own a Switch 2 or play on a phone with Bluetooth D4 Switch and Switch 2 listed, with wake-up; Bluetooth on all platforms
You want to spend under $50 D4 $49.99 against $79.99 and up
You want settings that work everywhere with no app D4 All configuration is on the controller
You want micro-switch face buttons and a mechanical D-pad G7 Pro Optical micro-switch ABXY; the D4 does not claim this
You need a documented 1000 Hz or 8000 Hz rate on PC G7 Pro Published and independently measured; the D4 publishes none
You want a dock, a swappable faceplate and spare stick caps G7 Pro All included; the D4 has none
You play on PS5 Neither Neither lists the PS5

The honest verdict: console decides it — PS4 to the D4, Xbox to the G7 Pro — and on PC the G7 Pro is the more premium pad for $30 more, while the D4 is the more versatile one for $30 less. Buy the G7 Pro edition that matches your platform; buy the D4 for PlayStation, Nintendo, mobile and value. Browse the D4 in AceGamer's TMR controllers and pro controllers.

View the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 →

Frequently asked questions

Does the GameSir G7 Pro work on PS4?
No. No edition of the G7 Pro supports PlayStation; it is an Xbox-licensed and PC controller with Bluetooth for Android. The AceGamer D4 supports PS4 with a touchpad, speaker and headset jack in PS4 mode, and its manual confirms it wakes the console.

Does the AceGamer D4 work on Xbox?
No. The D4's platforms are PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android. The G7 Pro is the Xbox-licensed option of the two, wired on the console in its standard edition and wireless in the more expensive Xbox-wireless edition.

Is the D4 better than the G7 Pro?
It depends on console and budget. The D4 leads on PS4 and Switch support, Bluetooth on every platform, on-controller setup and a $30 lower price. The G7 Pro leads on its Xbox licence, optical micro-switch face buttons, mechanical D-pad, documented 1000 Hz or 8000 Hz polling, swappable faceplate and dock. Both use TMR sticks.

Which G7 Pro edition should I buy?
The standard edition for Xbox wired play and PC wireless; the Xbox-wireless edition if you need wireless on the console; an 8K edition only for PC, since its 8000 Hz rate does not work on consoles and those editions do not support Xbox at all. The D4 has one edition covering all its platforms.

Do both have TMR sticks?
Yes. The D4 uses JS13Pro TMR sticks and the G7 Pro uses GameSir's Mag-Res TMR sticks, with second-generation sticks on the 8K editions. Both are contactless and drift-resistant. Neither publishes tension or resolution figures, so the sticks are best treated as a draw.

What is the biggest hardware advantage of the G7 Pro?
Its optical micro-switch face buttons and mechanical micro-switch D-pad, which give an instant, clicky actuation reviewers praise. The D4 does not claim micro-switch face buttons; it invests instead in its PS4 feature set, four rear back buttons and switchable triggers.

How much faster is 8000 Hz than the D4?
Unknown, because the D4 publishes no polling rate. The G7 Pro documents 1000 Hz on PC and 8000 Hz on its 8K editions over wired or 2.4G, with the 8K rate limited to PC. For most players the gain from 1000 Hz to 8000 Hz is small; it matters most to competitive shooter players.

Which has more back buttons?
Both have four extras. The D4 has four rear back buttons, M1 to M4, with on-controller macros of up to 24 inputs. The G7 Pro has two rear back buttons, L4 and R4, plus two mini bumpers, L5 and R5, mapped in GameSir's software. Count is equal; placement and setup method differ.

Does either need an app?
The G7 Pro uses GameSir's Nexus or Connect software for mapping, tuning and profiles, which reviewers rate as capable but the weakest part of the package. The D4 configures everything on the controller and needs no app, behaving identically on every platform, though it offers no visual editor.

Which is cheaper?
The D4, at $49.99. The G7 Pro lists at $79.99 for the standard edition, $89.99 for the 8K PC editions and $99.99 for the Xbox-wireless edition. Both are priced well below the $150 to $200 premium pads they are often compared with.

Sources & methodology

AceGamer D4 specifications are from AceGamer's official listing and its V2.1 user manual as of September 2026, with battery life stated as the rated runtime range. GameSir G7 Pro specifications, editions and prices are paraphrased from GameSir's product page and from the PCGamesN, The Outer Haven, Notebookcheck and GamingTrend reviews and news linked below, with independent polling measurements referenced for the 8K edition. Prices are US list at the time of writing and move with sales. Where a figure is unpublished for either controller, this guide says so rather than estimating. No test measurements were taken.

Vorige Volgende