AceGamer HyperShadow D4 Review: TMR Pro Controller

Updated: September 2, 2026 · AceGamer Editorial

Verdict up front — The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is a $49.99 full-size pro controller whose case rests on one combination nothing else at its price offers: TMR joysticks plus real PS4 support, with a touchpad, built-in speaker, four programmable back buttons, two-stage triggers, and Bluetooth, 2.4G and USB-C connections. It is the strongest value in the TMR category for PS4 and PC players. It is not the most premium pro controller available — it does not publish a polling rate, its 7–20 hour battery range is wide, and it does not support PS5 or Xbox. If those limits fit your platforms, the D4 is an easy recommendation. This review is written by AceGamer's editorial team about our own controller, and it assesses each feature against the published specification and the technology behind it rather than inventing test results.

AceGamer HyperShadow D4 pro controller reviewed - TMR joysticks, back buttons and PS4 touchpad
The HyperShadow D4 brings TMR sticks and PS4 support to the $49.99 price point.

How this review was written

A word on method before the assessment, because a first-party review should say what it is. This review is written by AceGamer's editorial team about a controller AceGamer sells. We are not a neutral third party, and pretending otherwise would be dishonest. What we can do is hold ourselves to a standard: every claim here traces to the D4's published specification, to the known behaviour of the technologies it uses, or to the current market for comparable controllers. Where the specification is silent — on weight, dimensions, polling rate, and Switch 2 wake behaviour — we say so rather than filling the gap with flattering guesses. Where a rival does something better, we say that too.

The AceGamer store lists a 4.9 average across 10 customer reviews for the D4 as of September 2026. We mention that as the figure the product page displays; we do not quote or characterise individual reviews here, and this page carries no review markup of its own. Readers who want customer voices should read them on the product page directly. The complete specification this review draws on is in the D4 specs and price sheet, which is the single source of truth for every figure below.

Who is the D4 for, and who should skip it?

The D4 is for PS4 and PC players who want drift-resistant TMR sticks, back buttons and a low-latency wireless option without paying $60 to $90 for them. It also suits Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android players who want a full-size pad with premium sticks across several devices.

More specifically, four kinds of buyer get the most from it. PS4 owners whose DualShock 4 has started to drift, who want a replacement with contactless sticks and the same touchpad and speaker functions, at a lower price than a new first-party pad. PC players moving up from a basic pad who want back buttons and a 2.4G dongle for competitive play. Multi-platform players who own a PS4 alongside a PC, a Switch 2 or a phone and want one controller that covers all of them. And value-conscious buyers who have read about TMR sticks and want them without the premium price tag.

Who should skip it is just as clear. PS5 and Xbox players: neither console is listed as supported, so the D4 is not for those platforms. Players who prioritise maximum battery life over features: the 7–20 hour range means heavy PS4 use with everything active lands near the low end. Competitive players who need a published high polling rate: the D4's listing does not state one, and we will not claim one. And anyone who wants a controller that folds into a pocket: that is what the AceGamer T50 is for, and the two are compared directly in D4 vs T50.

What is the D4 like as a physical controller?

The D4 is a full-size wireless controller in the PlayStation layout — symmetrical joysticks, a central clickable touchpad, and a built-in speaker, with four back buttons on the rear grips and a physical mode selector and trigger-travel switches. That layout is a deliberate choice: it is what PS4 players already know, and it is what allows the touchpad and speaker to work as PS4 games expect.

On the details a review would usually cover — exact weight, dimensions, materials and grip texture — the D4's product listing does not publish figures, and we are not going to invent them. What the specification does establish is the functional layout: two TMR sticks, a D-pad, four face buttons, L1/R1 bumpers, L2/R2 triggers with two-stage travel switches, the touchpad, M1 to M4 on the back, and the rear mode selector. That is the complete control set of a modern pro pad. Readers who want a tactile impression of the shell and grips should consult the product photography on the official page and independent hands-on coverage as it appears; we would rather leave that gap than fill it with adjectives.

One structural point worth making: the presence of a physical mode selector and physical trigger switches, rather than software toggles, is a good design decision for a multi-platform controller. It means switching from PS4 to PC, or from short shooter triggers to long racing triggers, is a flick of a switch rather than a trip through an app, and it works identically on every platform. For a controller meant to move between systems, that reliability matters more than a menu.

Are the TMR joysticks the real deal?

Yes — the D4 uses JS13Pro TMR magnetic induction joysticks, which are the current top tier of contactless stick technology, and having them at $49.99 is the D4's headline achievement.

To assess this honestly, it helps to know what TMR does and does not promise. Joystick sensing has gone through three generations. Potentiometer sticks read position through a physical wiper on a resistive track, and that contact wears — which is why so many controllers, including the first-party DualShock 4, eventually drift. Hall Effect sticks replaced the contact with a magnet and a sensor, removing the wear mechanism. TMR sticks use the same contactless principle with a tunneling magnetoresistance sensor that responds more sharply to small changes in the magnetic field, giving finer resolution and lower power consumption than Hall Effect. The full explanation is in what is a TMR joystick? and the head-to-head in TMR vs Hall Effect.

What this means in practice for the D4: the sticks are drift-resistant in the strongest sense the technology allows, because the mechanism that causes drift in potentiometer sticks is not present. They are not a guarantee against every possible fault — no controller is — and we address that directly in do TMR controllers drift? The resolution advantage is also what makes the D4's FPS zero-dead-zone mode viable: a stable contactless sensor can run a minimal centre dead zone without registering phantom input, which a worn potentiometer stick cannot.

The honest caveat is about the size of the gap. Against a potentiometer stick, TMR is a clear upgrade. Against a good Hall Effect stick — which is what the Flydigi Vader 4 Pro uses, for instance — the improvement is real but subtle for most players, showing up in precision-sensitive aiming and in power efficiency more than in everyday play. TMR is the better technology; it is not a night-and-day difference over Hall Effect, and we would rather say so than oversell it. The value point stands regardless: in 2026, TMR sticks appear mostly on controllers from about $60 upward, and the D4 brings them in under $50. That is the basis of the affordable TMR controller category, and of AceGamer's TMR collection.

How good is PS4 support?

PS4 support is the D4's most distinctive feature, and it is complete rather than nominal: in PS4 mode the clickable touchpad, the built-in speaker and the 3.5 mm headset jack are all functional.

This deserves emphasis because it is where the D4 separates from almost every other pro controller with modern sticks. The major TMR and Hall Effect pro pads — from GameSir, 8BitDo and Flydigi — generally do not support PlayStation at all, because third-party PlayStation support is uncommon outside licensed products. The PS4 third-party market that does exist is dominated by inexpensive controllers using potentiometer sticks. The D4 sits in the gap between them: a PS4-capable controller with contactless sticks.

Completeness matters here. A PS4 controller without a touchpad breaks the games that use it for maps, gestures and menu shortcuts. One without a speaker loses the audio cues some games route through the pad. One without a headset jack cannot take a wired headset the way a DualShock 4 does. The D4 includes all three, which means it can replace a DualShock 4 in day-to-day PS4 play rather than merely connecting to the console. The direct comparison is in D4 vs DualShock 4, and the category roundup in the best third-party PS4 controllers.

Two boundaries to be clear about. First, those three features are PS4-mode features: on PC, Switch and mobile they do not carry their PS4 behaviour, because those platforms do not use them the same way. Second, PS5 is not listed. A PS4 controller does not become a PS5 controller, and the D4's listing makes no PS5 claim, so neither do we. For PS4 owners specifically, though, this is as complete as third-party support gets at the price. Setup is in how to connect the D4 to a PS4, and the wider selection in AceGamer's PS4 controllers.

How does it connect, and which mode should you use?

The D4 connects over Bluetooth, an included 2.4G wireless receiver, or USB-C wired, selected with a rear switch, with a rated wireless range of 10 metres. Having all three is a strength that many controllers at this price lack.

The right mode depends on the platform. On PS4, the rear switch's PS4 mode is what enables the touchpad and speaker. On PC, the choice is between the 2.4G dongle and USB-C wired for serious play, with Bluetooth as the convenience option: a dedicated 2.4G receiver avoids the congested Bluetooth band and gives more consistent input timing, and a wired connection removes wireless latency altogether while charging the controller. On Switch, Switch 2, iOS, Android and Steam Deck, Bluetooth is the route, with no accessory needed. The mode-by-mode guide is switching D4 modes, and the PC-specific comparison is 2.4G vs Bluetooth on the D4.

The one thing we cannot assess is latency in numbers, because the D4 publishes neither a polling rate nor latency figures. What we can say is that the connection options are the right ones: a 2.4G dongle is the industry's standard answer for low-latency wireless, and wired is the standard answer for lowest latency of all. The D4 offers both. Whether its implementation matches the best in class on the millisecond scale is something independent measurement, not this review, should establish.

Do the back buttons and macros earn their place?

Yes. Four programmable back buttons with 24-step macros is a strong implementation at any price, and unusual under $50.

Back buttons are the defining feature of a pro controller because they let you act without lifting a thumb off a stick. Mapping jump, reload, crouch or weapon-swap to M1 through M4 keeps both thumbs aiming, which is the whole point. Four is the right number — enough to cover the actions competitive players most want off the face buttons, without cluttering the grips.

The macro capability is where the D4 goes beyond many rivals. Each back button can hold a sequence of up to 24 inputs, played back from one press. That covers long fighting-game combos, multi-step crafting or building sequences, and any repeated input string. Twenty-four is generous; several competing pads cap macros far lower or omit them. The usual caveats apply and we would rather state them than ignore them: macros are best used to save effort rather than to substitute for skill, and some competitive titles restrict macro use in ranked play, so check the rules. Setup is walked through in setting up M1–M4 macros, and the feature in context in controller back buttons explained.

How useful are the trigger modes and haptics?

The two-stage trigger switch — micro-switch or linear — and the four-level vibration control are practical, well-judged features that suit the D4's multi-genre, multi-platform role.

The trigger switch is a physical toggle that changes trigger travel. Micro-switch mode gives a short, clicky pull suited to shooters, where a fast tactile trigger is what you want. Linear mode restores full analogue travel for racing and flight games, where gradual throttle and brake control matter. A physical switch rather than a software setting means changing between them takes seconds, and it works the same on every platform. The trade-off, which applies to every controller with this feature, is that micro-switch mode sacrifices analogue precision for speed, so it is truly a choice rather than a free upgrade. The detail is in micro-switch vs linear triggers.

Haptics come from dual grip motors and dual trigger motors, with intensity at 100%, 70%, 30% or off. The trigger motors add feedback under the index fingers, which some games use for recoil or texture effects depending on platform support. The four-level control is more granular than the on/off toggle on many pads, and it doubles as a battery lever, since turning vibration down is one of the most effective ways to extend runtime.

Is the battery life good enough?

The 1000 mAh battery is rated at 7 to 20 hours, and the honest answer is that it is adequate rather than class-leading — sufficient for most sessions, with the low end reached under heavy PS4 use.

The range is wide because the D4 has a lot to power. Full-intensity vibration, trigger haptics, the built-in speaker and a wired headset drawing through the 3.5 mm jack all pull toward seven hours; a lean Bluetooth session with vibration reduced pushes toward twenty. The listed sleep current of 20 µA or less means it holds charge well between sessions, and a full charge takes about three hours over USB-C. Playing wired on PC charges the controller as you go, which sidesteps the question for desk sessions.

Against rivals, some pro controllers advertise 20-plus hours as a headline figure and include a charging dock. The D4 does neither, and we will not dress that up. If maximum battery life is your top priority, a simpler controller with fewer active features will run longer. For most players, seven hours at the heaviest setting still covers an evening's play, and the practical fix for the rest — reduce vibration, use the dongle or wire on PC — is straightforward. The full treatment is in D4 battery life explained.

How much can you customise without an app?

Everything the D4 advertises is configured on the controller itself — mode switching, trigger travel, vibration intensity, Turbo speed and macro recording — which means no app dependency and identical behaviour on every platform.

The specification describes on-controller controls for each adjustable feature: a rear selector for connection mode, physical switches for trigger travel, and button combinations for vibration level, Turbo assignment and speed (holding the M button and moving the right stick up or down cycles through three Turbo levels), and macro recording. The listing does not describe a companion app for the D4, so this review does not assume one. That is a real advantage for a controller that moves between a PS4, a PC and a phone: there is no configuration that works on one platform and not another, and nothing to install. The trade-off is that on-controller configuration is less visual than a software profile editor, and there is no cloud sync of profiles. For most players that is a fair exchange. The relevant guides are Turbo and trigger settings and macro setup.

Is the D4 good value against its rivals?

On price-to-feature ratio, the D4 is the strongest option we know of for PS4 and PC players who want TMR sticks. On absolute feature count or brand pedigree, some rivals lead, and the comparison should be honest about both.

Where the D4 leads Where rivals lead
TMR sticks at $49.99, below the $60–90 TMR norm 8BitDo Ultimate 2 includes a charging dock and a longer headline battery figure
Real PS4 support with touchpad, speaker and headset jack GameSir G7 Pro publishes a high polling rate and is Xbox-licensed
Bluetooth, 2.4G and USB-C in one pad Flydigi Vader 4 Pro is widely praised for its gyro implementation
Four back buttons with 24-step macros Established brands have longer track records and more third-party reviews
Physical mode and trigger switches, no app dependency Some rivals offer companion apps with visual profile editors

The pattern is consistent: the D4 wins on the combination of TMR, PS4 support and price, and rivals win on individual premium touches — a dock, a published polling rate, a celebrated gyro, a longer reputation. Which matters more depends on what you play. A PS4 owner cannot use most of those rivals at all, which settles it for them. A PC-only competitive player weighing the D4 against a $90 pad with a published 1000 Hz rate has a real decision to make, and we lay it out in D4 vs GameSir G7 Pro, D4 vs 8BitDo Ultimate 2 and D4 vs Flydigi Vader 4 Pro. Whether the price is right for you specifically is the subject of is the D4 worth it?

What are the drawbacks?

A review that lists only strengths is a brochure, so here are the D4's limitations as plainly as we can put them.

No PS5 or Xbox support. The listing covers PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android. If you play on PS5 or Xbox, this is not your controller.

No published polling rate or latency figure. Competing pro pads sometimes advertise 1000 Hz or more. The D4 does not state a figure, so no claim is made and no comparison on that point is possible here.

A wide battery range with a modest floor. Seven hours under heavy PS4 use is adequate, not impressive, and there is no charging dock.

Unpublished weight and dimensions. Buyers who care about heft and grip size have to rely on photography and hands-on coverage rather than a figure.

PS4-mode features do not travel. The touchpad, speaker and headset jack behave as PS4 features on a PS4; elsewhere they do not add the same value.

Switch 2 wake and amiibo are unstated. The listing is silent on both; Switch 2 buyers should check rather than assume.

Only black is confirmed. The listed SKU is D4-BLK.

None of these undercut the core proposition for the buyers the D4 is aimed at. All of them are things a buyer should know first.

Final verdict

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is the best-value TMR controller we know of for PS4 and PC players, and the only affordable one that treats PS4 as a first-class platform. At $49.99 it delivers contactless TMR sticks, complete PS4 support with touchpad and speaker, four back buttons with deep macros, two-stage triggers, four-level haptics, and three connection modes — a feature set that costs $60 to $90 elsewhere and usually arrives without PlayStation support at all.

It is not the most premium pro controller on the market. It publishes no polling rate, its battery is adequate rather than exceptional, and it does not reach PS5 or Xbox. Buyers who need any of those should look at the rivals we name above. For everyone the D4 is built for — the drifting DualShock 4 owner, the PC player stepping up to back buttons and a 2.4G dongle, the multi-platform player who wants one pad for a PS4, a PC and a phone — it is an easy recommendation and a clear step up from both a worn first-party pad and the potentiometer-based third-party alternatives.

Buy it if your platforms are PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2 or mobile and you want TMR sticks and pro features under $50. Skip it if you need PS5 or Xbox, a published high polling rate, or the longest possible battery. And if what you want is a controller that folds into a pocket, the AceGamer T50 is the one to read about instead.

View the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 →

Frequently asked questions

Is the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 a good controller?
For PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2 and mobile players who want TMR sticks, back buttons and multiple connection modes under $50, yes - it is the strongest value in its class. It is not the most premium pro controller available, and it does not support PS5 or Xbox, so it is a good controller for the platforms it lists rather than a universal one.

Who is the D4 best for?
PS4 owners replacing a drifting DualShock 4, PC players stepping up to back buttons and a 2.4G dongle, and multi-platform players who want one pad for a PS4, PC, Switch 2 or phone. Value-conscious buyers who want TMR sticks without a $60 to $90 price also fit well.

Who should not buy the D4?
PS5 and Xbox players, since neither console is listed as supported; players who need the longest possible battery life or a charging dock; competitive players who require a published high polling rate; and anyone who wants a foldable pocket controller, which is the AceGamer T50's role.

Are TMR joysticks better than Hall Effect?
TMR is the newer technology, with finer resolution and lower power draw than Hall Effect, and both are contactless and drift-resistant. Against potentiometer sticks the upgrade is clear; against a good Hall Effect stick the difference is real but subtle for most players, showing up most in precision aiming and efficiency.

Does the D4 really work on PS4 with the touchpad?
Yes. In PS4 mode the clickable dual-point touchpad, the built-in speaker and the 3.5 mm headset jack are all functional, so PS4 games that use them behave as with a DualShock 4. These are PS4-mode features and do not carry the same behaviour to PC, Switch or mobile.

Does the D4 support PS5?
No. PS5 is not listed among the D4's supported platforms, and this review makes no PS5 claim. The confirmed platforms are PS4, PC, Nintendo Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android.

How is the D4's battery life?
Rated at 7 to 20 hours from a 1000 mAh cell, depending on mode and active features. Heavy PS4 use with vibration, speaker and headset sits near the low end; lean Bluetooth use near the high end. It is adequate rather than class-leading, and playing wired on PC charges it as you play.

Does the D4 need an app?
No. Mode switching, trigger travel, vibration intensity, Turbo speed and macro recording are all configured on the controller itself, so it behaves identically on every platform with nothing to install. The trade-off is that on-controller setup is less visual than a software profile editor.

What does the D4 lack compared with pricier pro controllers?
A published polling rate, a charging dock, a longer headline battery figure, published weight and dimensions, and PS5 or Xbox support. Some rivals also have a longer track record and companion apps. The D4 counters with TMR sticks, real PS4 support and a $49.99 price.

Is this review independent?
No, and it says so. It is written by AceGamer's editorial team about AceGamer's own controller. Every claim traces to the published specification, the technology involved or the current market; unpublished figures are stated as unpublished, and rivals are credited where they lead.

Sources & methodology

This is a first-party editorial review by AceGamer. All D4 specifications and the price are drawn from AceGamer's official product listing as of September 2026, as consolidated in the D4 specs and price sheet. Descriptions of TMR, Hall Effect and potentiometer sensing reflect general industry understanding of joystick technology. Statements about rival controllers reflect the general 2026 market for TMR and Hall Effect pro controllers and the first-party DualShock 4, and are expanded with specifics in the linked head-to-head comparisons. No test measurements are reported because none were taken for this review; latency, weight and grip impressions should be sought from independent hands-on coverage. The 4.9 average across 10 reviews is the figure displayed on the product page and is not reproduced as review markup here.

Poprzedni Następny