AceGamer D4 vs 8BitDo Pro 2: Same Price, Which Controller?

Updated: September 7, 2026 · AceGamer Editorial

Quick answer — The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 and the 8BitDo Pro 2 list at the same $49.99 and share the same symmetrical PlayStation-style layout, which makes this one of the cleanest comparisons in the category: what does each maker spend the money on? The D4 spends it on hardware: TMR sticks, four back buttons with on-controller macros, a 2.4G receiver alongside Bluetooth, switchable triggers with haptic motors, and PS4 support. The Pro 2 spends it on breadth and longevity: a Hall Effect stick update, a four-way mode switch covering Switch, Windows, macOS and Android, a well-regarded D-pad, about 20 hours of battery with an AA option, three on-the-fly profiles and 8BitDo's mature software — and it is frequently discounted to $32–43. For PS4 owners and feature-per-dollar buyers, the D4; for Switch, Apple and retro players who want the safest all-rounder, the Pro 2. Neither publishes a polling rate.

AceGamer HyperShadow D4 beside the 8BitDo Pro 2, both symmetrical-layout controllers
Same price, same layout, different priorities: hardware on one side, breadth on the other.

What are the D4 and the Pro 2?

The AceGamer HyperShadow D4 is a $49.99 pro controller with JS13Pro TMR joysticks, four back buttons (M1–M4) holding on-controller remaps or macros of up to 24 inputs, two-stage triggers switchable per side between micro-switch and linear, dual grip and dual trigger haptic motors, a 6-axis sensor, Turbo and an FPS zero-dead-zone mode. It connects over Bluetooth, an included 2.4G receiver or USB-C via a rear switch, supports PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android, and in PS4 mode adds a touchpad, speaker, headset jack and console wake. Battery life is rated 7–20 hours. The full sheet is in D4 specs and price and the assessment in the D4 review.

The 8BitDo Pro 2 is 8BitDo's long-running flagship Bluetooth controller in a retro-flavoured symmetrical layout, now shipping in a Hall Effect joystick update. Coverage of the update describes Hall Effect sticks, two pro-level back buttons, a four-way mode switch on the back that toggles between Switch, Windows, macOS and Android without button combinations, an included USB-C cable for wired play, motion controls and rumble but not Nintendo's HD rumble or amiibo, a roughly 20-hour rechargeable battery with the option to swap in AA batteries, and 8BitDo's Ultimate Software on PC, Android and iOS for remapping, stick sensitivity and macros. Retail listings add a custom-profile button holding three profiles switchable on the fly, compatibility with Switch and Switch 2, Windows, Apple, Android, Steam Deck and Raspberry Pi, and a $49.99 list price that regularly drops to the low-to-mid $30s and $40s.

The one-line summary: the D4 is the newer, more heavily featured pad; the Pro 2 is the mature, widely compatible one. Neither supports PS5 or Xbox; only the D4 supports PS4.

Why the pairing is worth a full comparison: buyers at $49.99 who want a symmetrical pad rather than an Xbox-style one have exactly these two mainstream options with contactless sticks, and the choice between them is not about which is better made but about which set of features you will use. A player who reads only the spec table will see the D4 ahead on count; a player who reads the Pro 2's history will see a controller that has earned its place over years. Both readings are fair, and the sections below try to hold them together rather than pick one.

D4 vs Pro 2: specs side by side

D4 figures are from AceGamer's listing and user manual. Pro 2 figures are from the coverage and retail listings cited above. Where a figure is unpublished, the table says so.

Specification AceGamer HyperShadow D4 8BitDo Pro 2 (Hall Effect)
Price $49.99 $49.99 list; often $32–43
Layout Symmetrical, PlayStation-style, with touchpad Symmetrical, retro-style
Platforms PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS, Android Switch, Switch 2, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Steam Deck, Raspberry Pi
PS4 support Yes - touchpad, speaker, jack, console wake No
Joysticks JS13Pro TMR Hall Effect (updated model)
Back buttons 4, on-controller remaps and 24-step macros 2, remapped in software; 3 on-the-fly profiles
Triggers Two-stage: micro-switch or linear, per side Analogue; sensor not stated in coverage
Vibration Dual grip + dual trigger motors; 4 levels Rumble; no HD rumble
Motion 6-axis Yes
Connectivity Bluetooth · 2.4G receiver · USB-C Bluetooth · USB-C
Mode switching Rear switch: P4 / BT / 2.4G Rear 4-way switch: Switch / Windows / macOS / Android
Polling rate Not published Not published in coverage consulted
Battery Rated 7–20 h; USB-C, ~3 h charge About 20 h; USB-C; AA batteries as an option
Configuration On the controller; no app Ultimate Software on PC, Android, iOS
Amiibo / HD rumble Not claimed Not supported
Console wake PS4 yes; Switch 2 yes after one-time setup (manual) Not stated in coverage consulted

Which platforms does each support?

The Pro 2's list is broader — it adds macOS, Steam Deck and Raspberry Pi explicitly — and the D4's includes the one platform the Pro 2 lacks entirely, the PS4. For most buyers the PS4 line settles it; for the rest, both cover the Switch family, PC, iOS and Android.

The Pro 2's four-way switch is a well-liked design: flip it to Switch, Windows, macOS or Android and the controller presents the right profile without holding button combinations. Its explicit Steam Deck and Raspberry Pi support reflects 8BitDo's roots in retro gaming, where the Pro 2 has been a default recommendation for years. The D4's rear switch does a similar job across three protocols — P4 for the PS4, BT for Bluetooth devices including the Switch family and phones, 2.4G for its receiver on PC — and its listing does not name the Steam Deck or Raspberry Pi, though it pairs with a Deck as a standard Bluetooth pad, as described in connecting the D4 to a Steam Deck.

On the Switch, one documented difference: the D4's manual confirms a one-key Switch 2 wake-up after a one-time setup. The Pro 2 coverage consulted does not state whether it wakes the console, so no claim is made either way. Neither supports amiibo or HD rumble. Setup for the D4's platforms is in connecting the D4 to a Switch 2 and how to connect the D4 to a PS4.

TMR vs Hall Effect: how much does the stick upgrade matter?

Both are contactless and drift-resistant, which is the change that matters most and which the Pro 2's update delivers. TMR reads a finer signal with lower power draw than Hall, and the D4 uses that for a zero-dead-zone mode. The gain is real but subtle for casual play and clearest in precision aiming.

The Pro 2's move to Hall Effect sticks is the single most important thing about the updated model, because the original Pro 2 used potentiometer sticks that wore like any other. With the update, both controllers remove the sliding contact that causes drift, and on that count they are equal. The D4's TMR sensor produces a much larger signal per unit of magnetic field, which lets the controller resolve smaller movements with less noise and run a smaller centre dead zone — the D4's FPS zero-dead-zone mode, toggled per stick, depends on it. TMR also draws a fraction of a Hall sensor's power.

The honest scale: against the old potentiometer Pro 2, both are a clear step up; against the Hall Pro 2, the D4's edge shows in fine aiming and battery rather than in the hand. The technology is compared in TMR vs Hall Effect: which is better? and the dead-zone feature in FPS zero-dead-zone mode explained. Note that the Pro 2 coverage consulted does not state its trigger sensor type, and neither does the D4's listing.

Four back buttons or two plus profiles?

The D4 has four rear buttons with remaps and macros stored on the controller; the Pro 2 has two rear buttons remapped in software, plus a button that switches between three saved profiles on the fly. Count favours the D4; profile switching favours the Pro 2.

The D4's M1 to M4 sit in the rear grips and are programmed with a three-second M-plus-button hold, each holding a single remap or a sequence of up to 24 inputs, with defaults of B, A, L3 and R3. The Pro 2's two back buttons are assigned in Ultimate Software, and its custom-profile button flips between three stored configurations — layout, sensitivity, mapping — without touching the app again, which suits players who move between games with different needs.

Which matters more depends on you. Four buttons cover a full shooter or fighting-game layout where two cover the essentials; on-controller macros are a training-mode tool the Pro 2 offers only through its app. Profiles, though, are something the D4 lacks: it holds one set of assignments, and changing them means reprogramming. A player who keeps one layout will prefer the D4's four; a player who switches between three will prefer the Pro 2's button. The wider case is in controller back buttons explained and the D4's procedure in setting up M1–M4 macros.

Connectivity: 2.4G receiver or Bluetooth only?

The D4 includes a 2.4G receiver alongside Bluetooth and USB-C; the Pro 2 offers Bluetooth and USB-C only. For PC players who want a dedicated low-latency link, that is a real difference in the D4's favour. Neither publishes a polling rate.

The Pro 2 is a Bluetooth controller by design, and for the Switch, phones and casual PC play Bluetooth is fine; its included USB-C cable gives wired play with no wireless variance when you want it. What it lacks is the dongle route — a dedicated receiver that avoids the shared Bluetooth radio — which the D4 ships in the box. On a PC the D4 can run its receiver while keeping Bluetooth paired to a phone, with separate pairings and no re-pairing between them; the Pro 2 holds one Bluetooth pairing at a time on its Bluetooth modes, though its four-way switch eases moving between platforms.

The honest limit on both sides is documentation: the D4 publishes no polling rate for any mode, and the Pro 2 coverage consulted publishes none either, so this comparison ranks connection types rather than figures. The D4's receiver is compared with Bluetooth in 2.4G vs Bluetooth on the D4.

Triggers, vibration and the D-pad

The D4 leads on triggers and vibration — switchable travel per side and four motors with trigger haptics. The Pro 2 leads, by reputation, on the D-pad, which 8BitDo's retro lineage has refined and which the D4 does not specify.

Triggers. The D4's rear switches toggle each trigger between micro-switch and linear travel, and its trigger motors run in native, resonance or off modes. The Pro 2 has standard analogue triggers with no documented short-travel mode. See micro-switch vs linear triggers.

Vibration. The D4 has dual grip and dual trigger motors at four intensity levels set on the controller; the Pro 2 has rumble adjustable in its software, and neither has Nintendo's HD rumble.

D-pad. This is the Pro 2's traditional strength: 8BitDo's D-pads are widely regarded among retro and fighting-game players, and the Pro 2's is a reason people buy it for emulation and 2D games. The D4's manual describes the D-pad's function, not its mechanism, so this guide makes no claim about its feel and gives the Pro 2 the reputational edge here. Players who prioritise the D-pad — retro, platformers, fighters — should weigh that; players who prioritise sticks and triggers should weigh the D4's hardware.

Battery: rated range vs 20 hours and AA batteries

The Pro 2 is rated at about 20 hours and can run on AA batteries when its pack is swapped out, which is a distinctive convenience. The D4 is rated 7–20 hours depending on features in use, charges in about three hours over USB-C, and has no removable pack.

The Pro 2's figure is a single headline number and its AA option means a session never has to end for a charge — drop in fresh cells and continue. The D4's range is wide because it has more to power: with full vibration, trigger haptics, the PS4 speaker and a headset, it sits near seven hours; with vibration turned down over Bluetooth or the receiver, it reaches toward twenty. In lean use the two overlap; in heavy PS4 use the Pro 2's headline is out of reach for the D4, and this guide says so. The D4's manual notes it charges from a console or PC port while playing, which is its answer to the AA option. The details are in D4 battery life explained.

Software vs on-controller setup

The Pro 2 is configured in 8BitDo's Ultimate Software on PC, Android and iOS — remapping, stick sensitivity, macros and the three profiles. The D4 is configured entirely on the controller. Depth and profiles on one side; nothing to install and identical behaviour on every platform on the other.

8BitDo's software is mature and widely used, and its mobile apps mean a phone can configure the Pro 2 without a PC. Profiles are its standout: three layouts stored on the controller and switched with a button. The D4's approach is button combinations documented in its manual — macro programming, Turbo, vibration, trigger modes, FPS mode, sleep and calibration — with no app and one set of assignments. Tinkerers and multi-game switchers will prefer the Pro 2's software; players who want to set up once and never open an app, especially across a PS4, a PC and a phone, will prefer the D4's. The D4's settings are collected in the D4 Turbo and trigger settings guide.

Price and value

Both list at $49.99. The Pro 2 is discounted far more often — retail deals in the low-to-mid $30s and $40s are common — so its real-world price is usually lower. At list, the D4 offers more hardware; on sale, the Pro 2 offers a proven all-rounder for less.

At $49.99 each, the D4 gives you TMR sticks, four back buttons, a 2.4G receiver, switchable triggers with haptics and PS4 support that the Pro 2 does not have; the Pro 2 gives you Hall sticks, two back buttons, profiles, a broader explicit platform list, a longer headline battery with an AA option and a stronger D-pad reputation. When the Pro 2 is $32 to $43, the value question shifts: for a Switch, Apple or retro player who does not need PS4, a receiver or four back buttons, the discounted Pro 2 is hard to argue with. For a PS4 owner it is not an option at any price, and for a player who wants the fuller pro set, the D4's extra hardware is worth the difference. The wider field is in the best pro controllers under $50, and the D4 against 8BitDo's premium pad in D4 vs 8BitDo Ultimate 2.

Which should you buy?

Your situation Buy Why
You play on a PS4 D4 The Pro 2 has no PlayStation support
You want a 2.4G receiver for PC D4 Included; the Pro 2 is Bluetooth and wired only
You want four back buttons, macros and switchable triggers D4 The fuller pro feature set
You never want to open an app D4 All configuration on the controller
You play retro, emulation or 2D games and value the D-pad Pro 2 8BitDo's D-pad reputation; Raspberry Pi and macOS listed
You switch between several games with different layouts Pro 2 Three on-the-fly profiles
You want the longest headline battery or AA backup Pro 2 About 20 h, AA option
You can catch a sale and do not need PS4 or a receiver Pro 2 Frequently $32–43
You play on PS5 or Xbox Neither Neither lists those platforms

The honest verdict: the D4 for PS4, a receiver and the fuller hardware at list price; the Pro 2 for Switch, Apple and retro players, profiles, battery, and the sale price. Both are good symmetrical pads; the platforms and the extras decide it. Browse the D4 in AceGamer's pro controllers.

View the AceGamer HyperShadow D4 →

Frequently asked questions

Does the 8BitDo Pro 2 work on PS4?
No. The Pro 2 supports Switch and Switch 2, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Steam Deck and Raspberry Pi, with no PlayStation mode. The AceGamer D4 supports PS4 natively with a touchpad, speaker, headset jack and console wake. For a PS4 owner the D4 is the only choice of the two.

Is the D4 better than the 8BitDo Pro 2?
At the same 49.99 dollar list price, the D4 has more hardware - TMR sticks, four back buttons with on-controller macros, a 2.4G receiver, switchable triggers with haptics and PS4 support. The Pro 2 has Hall sticks, two back buttons, three profiles, a broader explicit platform list, a longer headline battery with an AA option, a stronger D-pad reputation and frequent discounts.

Does the 8BitDo Pro 2 have Hall Effect sticks?
The updated model does; the original used potentiometer sticks. Check that a listing says Hall Effect before buying. Both the Hall Pro 2 and the D4's TMR sticks are contactless and drift-resistant; TMR reads a finer signal with lower power draw, which the D4 uses for its zero-dead-zone mode.

Which has more back buttons?
The D4, with four rear buttons holding on-controller remaps or macros of up to 24 inputs. The Pro 2 has two rear buttons assigned in 8BitDo's software, plus a profile button that switches between three saved configurations on the fly - something the D4 does not offer.

Does the Pro 2 have a 2.4G dongle?
No. The Pro 2 connects over Bluetooth and USB-C wired only. The D4 includes a 2.4G receiver alongside Bluetooth and USB-C, and holds separate pairings for each, so it can serve a PC by receiver and a phone by Bluetooth without re-pairing.

Which has the better battery?
The Pro 2's headline is about 20 hours, with the option to swap in AA batteries. The D4 is rated 7 to 20 hours depending on features in use; heavy PS4 use with vibration, trigger haptics, the speaker and a headset sits near the low end, lean wireless use near the high end. The D4 charges from a console or PC port while playing.

Which has the better D-pad?
By reputation, the Pro 2: 8BitDo's D-pads are widely regarded among retro and fighting-game players. The D4's manual describes the D-pad's function but not its mechanism, so this guide makes no claim about its feel and gives the Pro 2 the edge here.

Does either need an app?
The Pro 2 uses 8BitDo's Ultimate Software on PC, Android and iOS for remapping, sensitivity, macros and profiles. The D4 configures everything on the controller with button combinations and needs no app, though it holds one set of assignments rather than switchable profiles.

Which supports more platforms?
The Pro 2 lists more explicitly - Switch, Switch 2, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android, Steam Deck and Raspberry Pi. The D4 lists PS4, PC, Switch, Switch 2, iOS and Android, and pairs with a Steam Deck as a standard Bluetooth pad. The D4 has the PS4; the Pro 2 has macOS and Raspberry Pi. Neither supports PS5 or Xbox.

Which is cheaper?
Both list at 49.99 dollars, but the Pro 2 is discounted far more often, with retail deals commonly in the 32 to 43 dollar range. At list the D4 offers more hardware for the money; on sale the Pro 2 is the cheaper proven all-rounder for players who do not need PS4, a receiver or four back buttons.

Sources & methodology

AceGamer D4 specifications are from AceGamer's official listing and its V2.1 user manual as of September 2026, with battery life stated as the rated runtime range. 8BitDo Pro 2 details — the Hall Effect update, back buttons, mode switch, battery and AA option, software and platform list — are paraphrased from the coverage and retail listings linked below; the Pro 2's polling rate, trigger sensor and console-wake behaviour are not stated in that coverage and are not claimed. Prices are US list at the time of writing; the Pro 2's sale prices reflect deals observed at retail and move. Where a figure is unpublished for either controller, this guide says so. No test measurements were taken.

Previous Next